ISL or the Indian Super League has already made its mark in the hearts of the Indian sports lovers within first few days of its debut. We at Sportycious too are following the event and the teams keenly as well. After knowing about other teams, today we are going to portray the ISL team from down south. The team which has attracted many eyes not because of the footballers playing in the team, but because of one of the owners is the most famous and respected names in world sports. Yes we are talking about Sachin Tendulkar, who is a partner in the ISL team Kerala Blasters.

Along with West Bengal and Goa, Kerala too is one of the major forces in the Indian football and it has given many good football players to the Indian team as well. But this is totally a different stage, this is where the professionalism will be at its peak and along with the moolah the prestige is also at stake. So let know more about the Kerala Blasters.

Basic Details of Kerala Blasters

Full Name: Kerala Blasters Football Club

Nickname(s): KBFC, Kochi Blasters FC and Blasters

Founded on: 27th May 2014

Home Ground: Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium, Kochi

Capacity: 80, 000 fans

Owners: Sachin Tendulkar and Prasad V Potluri

Manager: David James

Head Coach: Trevor Morgan

Leagues Playing: Indian Super League

Sponsors: Muthoot Pappachan Group

Kit: Puma

How Kerala Blasters F. C was Found?

When in early days of 2014 it was declared that AIFF – All India Football Federation has joined hands with the IMG-Reliance to stage a spectacular football league in tune with the Indian Premier League of Cricket, many industrialists and famous football enthusiasts came to gather to own a franchise. On 13th April while announcing the successful bid it was revealed that the Indian and world cricket great Sachin Tendulkar and the NRI Businessman Prasad V Potluri have won the bid for the Kerala Franchise.  On 27th May the team name was announced which was ‘Kerala Blasters’, the name is based on the nickname Sachin Tendulkar has which is ‘the mater blaster’. The team was officially inaugurated on 15th September at the Crown Plaza hotel in Kochi.

The Kerala Blasters will host all their home games at the gigantic Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium in Kochi which is also a Cricket Ground. The stadium can host around 80, 000 fans at once.

The Kerala Blasters Squad

Goal Keepers: Sandip Nandy, Luis Barreto, David James

Defenders: Cedric Hengbart, Jamie McAllister, Ramandeep Singh, Nirmal Chettri, Sandesh Jhingan, Gurwinder Singh, Raphael Romey, Avinabo Bag, Saumik Dey, Colin Falvey, Erwin Sitzner

Midfielders: Renedy Singh, Sushanth Mathew, Ishfaq Ahmed, Duleep Menon, Mehtab Hossain, Penn Orji, Godwin Franco, Stephen Pearson, Victor Herrero Forcada

Forwards: Michael Chopra, Pedro Gusmao, Iain Hume, C. S. Sabeeth, Andrew Barisic, Milagres Gonsalves

Manager: David James

Coach: Trevor Morgan

Assistant Coach: Jamie McAlister


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here