All about Australian Open


As we are well aware that there are four grand slam tournaments in tennis played every year. The Australian Open is the first grand slam which is played every year. Let us know more about this tournament via this article.

All about Australian Open

Basic Information about Australian Open

Founded: in 1905

Location: MelbournePark, Melbourne, Australia

Surface: Grass (till 1987), Rebound Ace (2008 – 2007), Plexicushion (From 2008)

Total Prize Money: AUS$ 33, 000, 000 (2014)

The Australian Open Men’s Draw

Draw: 128S – 128Q – 64D

Current Champions: Stanislas Wawrinka (Singles) | Lukasz Kubot and Robert Lindstedt (Doubles)

Most Titles Won by: Roy Emerson – 6 (Singles) | Adrian Quist – 10 (Doubles)

The Australian Open Women’s Draw

Draw: 128S – 96Q – 64D

Current Champions: Li Na (Singles) | Sara Errani and Roberta Vinci (Doubles)

Most Titles Won by: Margaret Court – 11 (Singles) | Thelma Coyne Long – 12 (Doubles)

The Australian Open Mixed Doubles Draw

Draw: 48

Current Champions: Kristina Mladenovic and Daniel Nestor

Most Titles Won by: Harry Hopman and Colin Long – 4 (Male) | Daphne Akhurst Cozens, Nell Hall Hopman, Nancye Wynne Bolton and Thelma Coyne Long – 4 (Female)

More about Australian Open

The Australian Open was started in 1905 by the Lawn Tennis Association of Australia or LTAA which is now known as Tennis Australia. The first ever Australian Open was played at the Warehouseman’s Cricket Ground in Melbourne and now it has been turned into Albert Reserve Tennis Centre. The Australian Open was first known as Australasian Championships and then it was renamed as the Australian Championships.

In 1969 the tournament was renamed as the Australian Open. The Australian Open was played in various cities around Australia and New Zealand in past. These cities are Sydney (17), Adelaide (14), Brisbane (7), Perth (3) and Melbourne (55 times). The New Zealand cities are Christchurch (once in 1906) and Hastings (once in 1912).

Till 1923 the Australian Open was not considered to be a major tournament in the world of tennis. But then in a meeting in 1923 it was decided to introduce the seeding system in the tournament and in 1972 the tournament was shifted to Melbourne permanently. The Kyooyong Lawn Tennis Club was the original place of the tournament and now it is staged at the Melbourne Park complex, since 1988.

The Australian Open is known as one of the toughest tournament in the entire year as it happens during the hot and humid Australian Summer. Many times the humidity is so high that the matches have to be stopped due to that. The 2014 Australian Open was one of those tournaments where heat was the major factor to fight for the most of the professional tennis players around the world.