Thursday, July 29, 2021

All about CONMEBOL – The South American Football Body

- Advertisement -

Like Europe, they have UEFA, for football crazy Latin America, there is a governing body for the game is CONMEBOL. In this article we will get all the important details about it. So let us check them out.

All about CONMEBOL

Basic Information about CONMEBOL

Full Name: Confederacion Sudamericana de Futbol

Abbreviation: CONMEBOL

Founded on: 9th July, 1916All about CONMEBOL – The South American Football Body

Category: Federation of National Associations

Headquarters: Luque, Paraguay

Region: South America (Latin America)

Members: 10 National Football Associations

Official Languages: Spanish and Portuguese

Current Secretary General: Jose Luis Meiszner

Current (Interim) President: Juan Angel Napout

Official Website:

More about CONMEBOL

The first ever intra continental football championship in the Latin America happened in 1916, it was then called Campeonato Sudamericano de Futbol which is now known as Copa America. The competition was held in Argentina to celebrate toe Argentine Declaration of Independence century celebrations. After the tournament got grand success the four participating nations decided to have a governing body and organization which can represent the entire Latin American football region and then the CONMEBOL was founded on the 9th of July 1916 which is also the Argentina’s Independence Day. The main force behind this was Uruguayan Hector Rivadavia and Argentina, Brazil, Chile and Uruguay were the four founder members of the CONMEBOL.

CONMEBOL is also the oldest continental governing body of football associations in the South America and it is affiliated with the world football body FIFA. Currently there are 10 national members in CONMEBOL. The entire CONMEBOL nations to gather have won nine FIFA World Cups till now which is commendable effort.

Member Nations of CONMEBOL

  • Argentina
  • Bolivia
  • Brazil
  • Chile
  • Colombia
  • Ecuador
  • Paraguay
  • Peru
  • Uruguay
  • Venezuela

Various Competitions Organized by CONMEBOL

The CONMEBOL organizes two kinds of competitions. One is the international competitions which has the 10 member nation’s participation. These competitions are.

  • Copa America
  • U20
  • U17
  • U15
  • Copa America Femenina
  • Under 20 (Female)
  • Under 17 (Female
  • Copa America de Futsal
  • Compeonato Sudamericano de Futsal Sub 20
  • Compeonato Sudamericano Femenino de Futsal

Club Competitions are also organized by CONMEBOL and they are

  • Copa Libertadores de America
  • Copa Sudamericana
  • Supercopa Libertadores
  • Copa Libertadores de Futbol Femenino
  • Recopa Sudamericana
  • Intercontinental Cup (Jointly with UEFA)
- Advertisement -
Check this out
- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -