All about the Dutch Football League – Eredivisie


This is an article on the Premier Dutch Football League, Eredivisie. In this article we will know about the basic information about the league along with its long history and also about some of its important players and the team participating in the league.

Dutch Football League – Eredivisie

Basic Information about Eredivisie

As we have already mentioned above that Eredivisie is the premier football league of the Netherlands. It was established in 1956 and it has 18 teams in total. The bottom lying teams are relegated to Earste Divisie. KNVB Cup and  Johan Cruijif Shield are the two trophies for which the Dutch football teams play for. The Eredivisie is affiliated with the UEFA and is entitled to play both the UEFA Champions League and the UEFA Europa League. AFC Ajax is the most successful club in the history of Eredivisie it has won 33 titles in all. The current champion of the Eredivisie is also Ajax. Fox Sports Eredivisie is the official television partners for the live telecast of the match. NOS holds the rights to telecast highlights. is the official website of the Eredivisie league.

History of Eredivisie

It is really surprising that in a football crazy continent of Europe a nation like the Netherlands had only armature club football till 1954. Even in 1954 when the Netherlands Football League Championship was found only handful of teams were part of that play-off system. The reason behind it was that the Royal Dutch Football Association (KNVB) totally rejected any kind of payment system to the players and they have even suspended those players who used to get salary as well.


It all happened in the year 1953 when the North Sea flood devastated part of France the Dutch players who were playing in the French League organized a charity match against the French National Team and apparently won it by 2-1. This created some enthusiasm in the general public of the Netherlands despite the KNVB rejected that match also. Hence a rebel professional football association which was named NBVB was found and the first ever Dutch Premier League was played in the year 1954.

Teams playing in the 2013-14 Eredivisie

  • ADO Den Haag – The Hague
  • Ajax – Amsterdam
  • AZ – Aikmaar
  • SC Cambuur – Leeuwarden
  • FC Groningen – Gronigen
  • FC Twente – Enschede
  • FC Utrecht – Utrecht
  • GO Ahead Eagles – Deventer
  • PEC Zwolle – Zwolle
  • Feyenoord – Rotterdam
  • Heracles Almelo – Almelo
  • NAC Breda – Breda
  • Excelsior – Rotterdam
  • PSV –  Eindhoven
  • RKC Waalwijk – Waalwijk
  • Roda JC – Kekrade
  • Sc Heerenveen – Heerenveen
  • Vitesse – Arnhem