Tennis is known to be an individual and professional sport and all the players play for their own benefit. But that is where Davis Cup is different, so let us know everything about Davis Cup.

Everything about Davis Cup

Davis Cup is the premier international tennis event for men where players play for their country and not for self. Davis Cup is organized and regulated by the International Tennis Federation or ITF. All the teams contest in the tournament annually throughout the year in a knock-out style format. The Davis Cup was founded by Dwight F Davis in the year 1990. Currently 16 teams are competing in the ‘World Group’ and total 130 teams take part in Davis Cup by playing in different groups. The United States of America have won the highest number of Davis Cup titles which is 32. The current Davis Cup champion is Czech Republic which is their 3rd title. The official website for the tournament is

Brief History about Davis Cup

Four members of the Harvard University challenged the British tennis players to have a tournament in the year 1899 and it was accepted the Davis Cup was born. Dwight F Davis was one of those four players who challenged the British and it was he who designed not only the format of the tournament, but also funded the trophy from his pocket by spending US$ 1000 at that time. The Davis Cup trophy was designed by William Durgin of New Hampshire and was crafted by Rowland Rhodes of England.

The first ever Davis Cup match was played at the Longwood Cricket Club in Boston, Massachusetts in which USA stunned the British by winning first three games. Since then the domination over the Davis Cup has kept on changing. In 1905 Belgium, France, Austria and Australasia (Australia and New Zealand combined) were included to play the tournament. Australia dominated the tournament fully from 1950 to 1967 by winning it 15 times in those 18 years, but since 1970s the United States has a stamp of the authority as they have won the most number of tournaments, stands 32 at the moment.

Most Number of Davis Cup Wins

  • The United States – 32
  • Australia (including Australasia) – 28
  • Great Britain – 9
  • France – 9
  • Sweden – 9

Format of Davis Cup

Top 16 national sides as per rankings given by the ITF play for the World Group, those nations who are not part of the World Group play in their regional zones and try to qualify for the world group next year. The current regional zones are Americas, Asia/Oceania and Europe/Africa.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here