Exclusive Content:

Terminology and Slang Used in Freeskiing

Every sport has its own language and only the...

Virat Kohli Information: Biography, Profile, Cricket Career, Awards

Basic Information about Virat Kohli Full Name: Virat Kohli Nick Name:...

List of IPL Team Owners (2021)

Indian Premier League (IPL) is a yearly cricket tournament...

ICC Cricket World Cup 2015 – Australia & New Zealand

Brief Introduction to the ICC World Cup 2015

The 11th edition of the ICC World Cup will be played in Australia and New Zealand from 14th February to 29th March 2015. There will be 49 matches in total which will be played in 14 different venues in Australia and 23 matches in all which will be played in 7 various cities of New Zealand. The final of the tournament will be played at the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG). The total number of teams will be 14 with more than 400 players and officials will take part in it.

Bid Process for the ICC World Cup 2015

The Trans-Tasman bid was the only bid to host the 2015 World Cup, but the only hurdle which would have hurt the winning of it was the participation of Zimbabwe because of the stern political relations between Zimbabwe and New Zealand but the New Zealand government assured the New Zealand Cricket Board that it will allow Zimbabwe to participate in the World Cup hence the hosting rights were awarded to Australia and New Zealand. Australia and New Zealand will host the ICC Cricket World Cup for the second time after 1992.

Qualification for the Associated Nations for the ICC World Cup 2015

ICC’s CEC first decided in 2011 that only 10 full members will participate in the 2015 ICC Cricket World Cup, but after opposition from Ireland, which did really well in the 2011 World Cup, ICC took back this decision and allowed 14 teams to participate via a qualification process for the non-associate and non-affiliated teams. In an ICC World Cup Qualifier tournament played in New Zealand in 2014 Scotland, Afghanistan and United Arab Emirates qualified for the World Cup 2015 where Ireland qualified automatically based on their performance of 2011 World Cup.

Format of the ICC World Cup 2015

  • Round Robin in two groups A and B where each team in the group will play against each other once.
  • Top 4 teams from each group will qualify for the Quarter Finals
  • Winners of the quarterfinals will advance to the two Semi Finals
  • Finals will be played between the winners of the two Semi Finals

The ICC World Cup 2015 Venues


  • Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG), Melbourne – Capacity: 100, 024
  • Sydney Cricket Ground (SCG), Sydney – Capacity: 48, 000
  • Adelaide Oval, Adelaide – Capacity: 53, 500
  • Wooloongabba, Brisbane Cricket Ground, Brisbane – Capacity: 42, 000
  • WACA Ground, Perth – Capacity: 24, 500
  •  Bellerive Oval, Hobart – Capacity: 20, 000
  • Manuka Oval, Canberra – Capacity: 13, 550

New Zealand

  • Eden Park, Auckland – Capacity: 46, 000
  • Hagley Oval, Christchurch – Capacity: 20, 000
  • Seddon Park, Hamilton – Capacity: 12, 000
  • McLean Park, Napier – Capacity: 20, 000
  • Wellington Regional Stadium, Wellington – Capacity: 33, 000
  • Saxton Oval, Nelson – Capacity: 5, 000
  • University Oval – Dunedin Capacity: 6, 000

ICC World Cup 2015 – Groups

Group A

  • England
  • Australia
  • Sri Lanka
  • Bangladesh
  • New Zealand
  • Afghanistan
  • Scotland

Group B

  • South Africa
  • India
  • Pakistan
  • West Indies
  • Zimbabwe
  • Ireland
  • United Arab Emirates


Soccer Players and Eyewear: On and Off The Field

Soccer is not a game one would usually associate...

Madison Square Garden Bag Policy: What You Need to Know

Madison Square Garden is one of the most popular...

ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024: Everything You Need to Know

The ICC Men's T20 World Cup is one of...

Game, Set, Dry Fast! The Rapid Rise of Fast Dry Clay Tennis Courts

What are Fast Dry Clay Courts? Fast dry clay tennis...



Must Check

Best Cooler for Kayaking: Keep Your Drinks and Snacks Cold on the Water

The Best Cooler for Kayaking is a crucial addition...

The Ultimate Guide: How to Transport a Kayak Safely and Hassle-Free

Transporting a kayak can feel overwhelming if you're unfamiliar...

Wetsuit for Kayaking: The Ultimate Guide to Master the Waves

When it comes to kayaking, one of the most...

Top 10 Fishing Kayaks of 2023: Unveiling the Best-Kept Secrets to Angling Success!

Welcome to Sportycious' ultimate guide on the best fishing...

Ultimate Kayaking Footwear: Discover the best Shoes for Paddling Perfection

Dive into the world of kayaking with confidence, as...

Don't miss

The Ashes – Cricket’s Oldest Rivalry

'The Ashes is the name of the entire test...

All You Want to Know about Kite Surfing

Kite Surfing is one of the mixed adventure sports...

Player Profile – Michael Jordan (American Basketball Player)

Personal life: Michael Jordan was born on February 17, 1963,...

The Complete Guide To Canicross and How It Can Be a Great Sport For Your Dog

Canicross is a trail that runs with the dog....

A Beginners’s Guide to the Basics of Rugby Union Positions

In the game of rugby union which is a...
David Whisler, the maestro of editing at Sportycious, brings a touch of panache to the world of sports journalism. With an eagle eye for detail and a flair for enthralling storytelling, David ensures Sportycious remains the go-to destination for readers seeking an exhilarating and enlightening experience. When not juggling commas and semicolons, you'll find David enthusiastically supporting his favourite teams and indulging in his own sporting escapades.

ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024: Everything You Need to Know

The ICC Men's T20 World Cup is one of the most anticipated cricket tournaments in the world. It is a biennial Twenty20 International (T20I)...

The West Indies – Strength in diversity

The West Indies cricket team is a diverse mix of players representing 15 English-speaking countries and territories surrounded by the Caribbean Sea and the...

List of IPL Team Owners (2021)

Indian Premier League (IPL) is a yearly cricket tournament hosted in India every year. It has witnessed 13 seasons to date. There have been...