India starts its campaign with an easy win against Pakistan


Sidelights- ICC World T20 | India Vs Pakistan

There is always a nerve whenever India plays against Pakistan even if it is an exhibition match. But this was a World T20 match and people were expecting a big and vocal fight between two archrivals, especially after Pakistan snatched the victory from India just a few weeks back in the same country during the Asia Cup. But what it turned out was just a total opposite. India first bowl exceedingly well, which was not expected from them and then romped home with an easy victory. Pakistan did not even try to stop the Indians. This is the most difficult group out of two and hence first win was always welcome to start on a good note, wonder whether Pakistan knew about it or not?

ICC World T20 | Match 13 | India Vs Pakistan

Amit Mishra celebrates Ahmed Shehzad wicket

Venue: Shere Bangla National Stadium, Mirpur

Toss:India and elected to field first

Playing XIs

Pakistan: Kamran Akmal, Ahmed Shehzad, Mohammad Hafeez, Umar Akmal, Shoaib Malik, Shahid Afridi, Shoaib Maqsood, Bilawal Bhatti, Umar Gul, Saeed Ajmal, Junaid Khan

India: Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli, Yuvraj Singh, Suresh Raina, Mahendra Singh Dhoni, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Amit Mishra, Bhuvaneshwar Kumar, Mohammed Shami

Mini Score Card

Pakistan: 130/7 (20) – Umar Akmal 33 (30) | Amit Mishra 2/22 (4)

India: 131/3 (20) Virat Kohli 36* (32) | Saeed Ajmal 1/18 (4)

Result:India won by 3 wickets

Points:India 2, Pakistan 0

Man of the match:  Amit Mishra (India)

Umpires: Kumar Dharmasena (Sri Lanka) | Richard Kettleborough (England) | Nigel Llong (3rd – England) | Richard Illingworth (Reserve – England)

Match Referee: Ranjan Madugalle (Sri Lanka)

How they played the game

Powerplay:Pakistan 34 runs, 1 wicket | India 38 runs, 0 wicket

First 50 runs:Pakistan 58 balls | India 46 balls

Next 50 runs:Pakistan 37 balls | India 40 balls

Best Partnership

Pakistan – 4th wicket 50 runs off 42 balls | Contributors: Umar Akmal 29 (22) and Shoaib Malik 18 (20)

India – 4th wicket 66 runs off 50 balls | Contributors: Suresh Raina 35 (28) and Virat Kohli 30 (22)



Pakistan 11 (2 – Kamran Akmal, Ahmed Shehzad, Umar Akmal, Shoaib Maqsood | 1 – Mohammad Hafeez, Shoaib Mallik, Shahid Afridi)

India 14 (5 – Shikhar Dhawan | 4 – Virat Kohli and Suresh Raina | 1 – Rohit Sharma)


Pakistan 2 (1 – Shoaib Malik and Shoaib Maqsood)

India 4 (2- Rohit Sharma | 1 – Virat Kohli and Suresh Raina)

Important facts about the match

  • Mohammed Shami of India made his T20I debut

In the pic: Amit Mishra celebrates Ahmed Shehzad wicket

Picture Courtesy: ESPN-Cricinfo