The 11th edition of the ICC Cricket World Cup will be played in Australia and New Zealand in 2015. The world cups of cricket are always been the priority for all of the cricket playing nations and now a days they prepare for the world cup well in advance. The world cups have their own stories and facts so let us have a look on them

Interesting Facts about Cricket World Cups

  • England is the only nation which has hosted most number of World Cups (4) the next is India and Pakistan (2-both jointly)
  • The 1987 World Cup was the first ever world cup which was held outside England.
  • The 1992 World Cup was the first ever world cup which was hosted by the Southern Hemisphere countries.
  • The 1992 World Cup was the first ever world cup, where white balls were used and Day and Night games were played with colour clothings.
  • Because of the racial policy in South Africa, they could participate in the World Cup only in it’s 5th edition in 1992.
  • Sri Lanka became the host for the first time in 1996 when they co-hosted the world cup in 1996.
  • Chetan Sharma of India is the first bowler to claim a hat trick in a world cup (1987).
  • Australia is the only team which has won 4 world cups in which three world cup wins came in a row (1997, 2003 & 2007).
  • After losing a round robin game against Pakistan in 1999 World Cup, Australia lost a game in a World Cup against the same team in the 2011 World Cup only.
  • Clive Lloyd and Ricky Ponting are the only captains who have won the world cup twice. Lloyd in 1975 and 1979 and Ponting in 2003 and 2007.
  • Sachin Tendulkar of India is the highest run getter in the World Cup history; he has scored 2, 278 runs in 6 world cups.
  • Glenn McGrath of Australia has claimed the highest number of wickets in the history of world cups which is standing at 72.
  • Shahid Afridi of Pakistan has a unique record of taking four wickets or more wickets in a match in four world cups.
  • The venues for the World Cup finals are Lord’s (1975, 1979, 1983, 1999), Eden Gardens (1987), Melbourne Cricket Stadium (1992), Gaddafi Stadium (1996), The Wanderers (2003), Kensington Oval (2007) and Wankhede Stadium (2011)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here