Interesting Game called Lacrosse


Lacrosse Game

The game of Lacrosse is a team sport which has been invented by the Native American Iroquois or the first nation’s origins. It is played with a small rubber ball of 62.7 mm to 64.77 mm with the weight of 140 to 147 grams and with a long-handled stick with a net which is called lacrosse or a lacrosse stick. This sport is told to be first played during the 12th century and it was codified in 1869. It is a 10 per side including the goalkeeper. There are separate competitions are organized for both the genders. Lacrosse Stick, Helmet, Shoulder and Elbow pads, Athletic cap and gloves are the major equipments used by the Lacrosse players. It can be played either indoors or outdoors. The game of Lacrosse was part of the 1904 and 1908 summer Olympics and was as a demonstrative sport in 1928, 1932 and 1948 Olympics.

lacrosse field dimensions

The field of Lacrosse is 110 yards long and 60 yards wide. There are two goal posts fixed at the each end with the height of 6 feet and a width of 6 feet as well. Each the offensive and defensive area is surrounded by a box called restraining box. There are four quarters and after each quarter and after every goal is scored the play is re started with a face off. When the face off is implemented two players from each team lay their stick out horizontally next to the ball. The head of the stick inches from the ball and the butt end points down on the midlfield line. The actual meaning of face off in Lacrosse is scrapping for the ball. Although the attackers and defenders can not cross their restraining line until one player from the midfield takes the possession of the ball or the ball itself crosses the restraining line.

Apart from men’s, women’s and college Lacrosse, there is a Major League Lacrosse is also present in the United States which is popularly known as MLL. It was founded in 1999 and the season runs between April and August. There are several exceptions made in the rules in the MLL from the original format of Lacrosse. There are 8 teams which are participants in the MLL. These teams are, New York City, Rochester, Boston, Annapolis, Columbus, Denver, Charlotte and Palm Beach County.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here