All about International Premier Tennis League – IPTL


The International Premier Tennis League or IPTL is going to have its first season in November 2014. It was founded in 2013 and will have franchises from four cities – Dubai, Manila, New Delhi and Singapore. Let us know more about this tournament.

All about International Premier Tennis League – IPTL

Basic Details about International Premier Tennis League – ITPL

Tournament Name: International Premier Tennis League – ITPL

Sport: Team Tennis


Founded in: 2013

First Season: 2014

Founder and Director: Mahesh Bhupathi

Number of Teams: 4

Participant Countries: India, Philippines, Singapore and United Arab Emirates

Sponsors: Coca Cola

Slogan: “Break the Code”

Official Website:

More about International Premier Tennis League – ITPL

On 25th May 2013, Mahesh Bhupathi the ex Indian tennis player announced the founding of International Premier Tennis League. At the start it was decided to have 6 franchises, which were later reduced to 4 franchises. The format of the tournament is based on Indian Premier League – IPL, the most popular cricket league in the world.

On 21st January ITPL announced Manila, Hong Kong, Kuala Lumpur, Mumbai and Singapore as the participating cities. All these cities were to play their home games in their city and the sixth franchise’s home city was to decide later, but it was confirmed to be in the UAE only.

The Inaugural Season of Indian Tennis Premier League 2014

Each of the four teams playing in the Indian Tennis Premier League will have to play their matches in following manner.

  • Men’s singles
  • Women’s singles
  • Men’s doubles
  • Mixed doubles
  • Past champions’ singles.

Here are the team names and the players who are participating in those teams drafted for the Indian Tennis Premier League – ITPL.

  • Manila Mavericks
    • Andy Murray – United Kingdom
    • Jo-Wilfried Tsonga – France
    • Carlos Moya – Spain
    • Daniel Nestor – Canada
    • Treat Huey – Philippines
    • Maria Sharapova – Russia
    • Kirsten Flipkens – Belgium
  • UAE Royals
    • Novak Djokovic – Serbia
    • Marlin Cilic – Croatia
    • Richard Gasquet – France
    • Nenad Zimonjic – Serbia
    • Janko Tipsarevic – Serbia
    • Goran Ivanisevic – Croatia
    • Malek Jaziri – Tunisia
    • Caroline Wozniacki – Denmark
    • Eugenie Bouchard – Canada
  • Indian Aces
    • Roger Federer – Switzerland
    • Gael Monfils – France
    • Pete Sampras – USA
    • Rohan Bopanna – India
    • Fabrice Santoro – France
    • Sania Mirza – India
    • Ana Ivanovic – Serbia
  • Singapore Slammers
    • Andre Agassi – USA
    • Lleyton Hewitt – Australia
    • Nick Kyrgios – Australia
    • Patrick Rafter – Australia
    • Tomas Berdych – CzechRepublic
    • Bruno Soares – Brazil
    • Serena Williams – USA
    • Daniela Hantuchova – Slovakia