ISL Team – Chennaiyin FC


The Indian Super League or ISL is already underway now and we are getting more and more details about the participating teams. The latest addition in our ISL Teams article series is ‘Chennaiyin FC’ a franchise from the fourth metro city of India, Chennai (formerly known as Madras). There is an interesting fact about Chennaiyin FC which we will reveal later in this article. First get all the important and basic details about ‘Chennaiyin FC’ and then we will brief you about how it was formed and who are the players playing for this franchise in the ongoing Indian Super League.

ISL Team – Chennaiyin FC

Brief Information about Chennaiyin FC

Full Name: Chennaiyin Football Club

Founded: in 2014

Home Ground: Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium, Chennai, Tamil Nadu

Capacity: 40, 000 fans

Technical Tie up: Inter Milan, Italy

Owners: Abhishek Bachchan, Mahendra Singh Dhoni and Vita Dani

Head Coach: Marco Materazzi

Leagues playing: Indian Super League – ISL

More about Chennaiyin FC

After the foundation of the Indian Super League or ISL was laid in the year 2013, Chennai was one of the franchise cities which was proposed for the bidding. But on 11th April 2014 the news came that the bidders which was actually a consortium led by the former Indian Cricket great Sunil Gavaskar dropped itself from the bidding process because of certain commitments with the Board of Control for Cricket in India – BCCI.

Later in August 2014 the Bangalore team owners Sun Group dropped out of the ISL with some disputes with the organizers. Later it was found that Ronnie Screwwala and Abhishek Bachchan may prefer to bid for Chennai instead of Bangalore and on 14th August 2014 a team of ISL visited the Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium in Chennai for the arrangements of the proposed team.

Few days later an Indian origin and football expert from London, Prashant Agarwal joined hands with Abhishek Bachchan and launched a team for Chennai with technical support from the Italian league team Inter Milan. Beranrd Mendy, Gennaro Bracigliano, Christian Hidalgo, Bojan Djordjic, Bruno Pelissari, Eduardo Silva Lerma and Jairo Suarez were signed by the Chennai team with INR 33.43 lakhs per year contract. On 12th September, 2014 the former player of the Italian World Cup winning team Marco Materazzi was hired as the head coach or player manager.

On 6thof October, It was also announced that the current Indian Cricket team captain who is also the captain of the IPL Franchise Chennai Super Kings, Mahendra Singh Dhoni, has also purchased a part in the Chennaiyin FC.

Team Details of Chennaiyin FC

Goal Keepers: Gennaro Bracigliano, Shilton Paul, Abhijit Mondal

Defenders: Dhanachandra Singh, Gouramangi Singh, Khelemba Singh, Abhishek Das, Bernard Mendy, Mikael Silvestre, Marco Materazzi, Jairo Suarez

Midfielders: Harmanjot Khabra, Denson Devdas, Anthony Barbosa, Pappachen Pradeep, Jaison Vales, Sukhwinder Singh, Cristian Hidalgo, Bojan Djordjic (Captain), Pierre Tillman, Bruno Pelissari, Elano

Forwards: Jeje Lalpekhula, Jayesh Rane, Balwant Singh, Eduardo Silva Lerma, John Stiven Mendoza

Coach: Marco Materazzi

Assistant Coach: Vivek Nagul


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here