Exclusive Content:

Variants of Handball – Field and Czech Handball

As we have discussed in our previous article on...

Best Axe Throwing Clubs In Denver

In early days, axe throwing was not not a...

National Hockey League (NHL) – The Structure and its Teams

We have learnt about National Hockey League (NHL) in our previous...

Kings defeat Super Kings


Since the number of T20 matches has increased, no score is safe. Chennai Super Kings made 205 and yet it was not enough for Kings XI Punjab as they romped home with 7 balls to spare. This also spoiled Suresh Raina’s 100th consecutive match for Suresh Raina, played for his franchise.

IPL 7 | Match 3 | CSK Vs KXIP

Glenn Maxwell letting it go over boundary

Venue: Sheikh Zayed Stadium, Abu Dhabi

Toss: CSK and elected to bat first

Playing XIs:

CSK: Dwayne Smith, Brendon McCullum, Suresh Raina, Mahendra Singh Dhoni, Dwayne Bravo, Faf du Plessis, Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Pawan Negi, Ashish Nehra, Mohit Sharma

KXIP: Cheteshwar Pujara, Virender Sehwag, Glenn Maxwell, Akshar Patel, David Miller, George Bailey, Wriddhiman Saha, Mitchell Johnson, Rishi Dhawan, Parvinder Awana, Lakshmipathy Balaji

Mini Score Card:

CSK 205/4 (20) Run rate: 10.25

Brendon McCullum 67 (45) | Lakshmipathy Balaji 2/43 (4)

Dwayne Smith 66 (43) | Akshar Patel 1/34 (4)

KXIP 206/4 (18.5) Run rate: 10.93

Glenn Maxwell 95 (43) | Ravichandran Ashwin 2/41 (4)

David Miller 54* (37) | Ashish Nehra 1/24 (3)

Result: KXIP won by 6 wickets

Points: KXIP 2 | CSK 0

Man of the match: Glenn Maxwell (KXIP)

Umpires: Richard Illingworth | C Shamshuddin | Billy Bowden (3rd) | K Srinath (Reserve)

Match Referee: Andy Pycroft

How they played the game:

Powerplay: CSK 70 runs, 0 wickets | KXIP 64 runs, 3 wickets

First 50 runs: CSK 27 balls | KXIP 30 balls

50-100 runs: CSK 30 balls | KXIP 35 balls

100-150 runs: CSK 35 balls | KXIP 20 balls

150-200 runs: CSK 26 balls | KXIP 27 balls

Best Partnership

CSK – 1st Wicket | 123 runs off 76 balls | Contributors – McCullum 67 (45) and Smith 44* (31)

KXIP – 4th Wicket | 115 runs off 63 balls | Contributors – Maxwell 78 (35) and Miller 32* (28)

Fours and SIXES

CSK – 15 Fours (6 by Smith, 4 by McCullum, 3 by Dhoni and 2 by Raina) | 10 SIXES (5 by McCullim, 3 by Smith and 1 each by Dhoni and Bravo)

KXIP – 25 Fours (15 by Maxwell, 4 by Sehwag, 3 by Miller and 2 each by Pujara and Bailey) | 5 SIXES (3 by Miller and 2 by Maxwell)

Important facts about the match:

  • This was Suresh Raina’s (CSK) 100th Consecutive match for CSK. In fact Raina has appeared in all the games CSK has played since first IPL of 2008.
  • 70/0 was CSK’s best score in Powerplays.
  • KXIP has scored the most number of 200+ totals in IPL till now which are four.

In the PIC: Glenn Maxwell is letting it go over the boundary

Picture Courtesy: ESPN Cricinfo 


Soccer Players and Eyewear: On and Off The Field

Soccer is not a game one would usually associate...

Madison Square Garden Bag Policy: What You Need to Know

Madison Square Garden is one of the most popular...

ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024: Everything You Need to Know

The ICC Men's T20 World Cup is one of...

Game, Set, Dry Fast! The Rapid Rise of Fast Dry Clay Tennis Courts

What are Fast Dry Clay Courts? Fast dry clay tennis...



Must Check

Best Cooler for Kayaking: Keep Your Drinks and Snacks Cold on the Water

The Best Cooler for Kayaking is a crucial addition...

The Ultimate Guide: How to Transport a Kayak Safely and Hassle-Free

Transporting a kayak can feel overwhelming if you're unfamiliar...

Wetsuit for Kayaking: The Ultimate Guide to Master the Waves

When it comes to kayaking, one of the most...

Top 10 Fishing Kayaks of 2023: Unveiling the Best-Kept Secrets to Angling Success!

Welcome to Sportycious' ultimate guide on the best fishing...

Ultimate Kayaking Footwear: Discover the best Shoes for Paddling Perfection

Dive into the world of kayaking with confidence, as...

Don't miss

9 Interesting Facts about the National Hockey League (NHL)

After knowing about National Hockey League, it’s structure and...

Know about Some of the Famous Golf WAGs (Part – I)

Famous Golf WAGs Well golf is not only a professional...

Discover the 4 Best Hot Yoga Centers in Calgary to Rejuvenate Your Body and Mind

For centuries, yoga has stood as a timeless practice...

Karthik and Duminy end DD’s drought

Sidelights: After losing the first game quite convincingly against RCB...

All about Four Major Golf Tournaments

Al over the year the professional golfers keep on...
David Whisler, the maestro of editing at Sportycious, brings a touch of panache to the world of sports journalism. With an eagle eye for detail and a flair for enthralling storytelling, David ensures Sportycious remains the go-to destination for readers seeking an exhilarating and enlightening experience. When not juggling commas and semicolons, you'll find David enthusiastically supporting his favourite teams and indulging in his own sporting escapades.

IPL 2020 Squad List: Full Squad List of all Eight Teams

After thrilling bidding wars and a whopping Rs 140.30 crore being spent, as the squads of eight franchises took final shape unfolded in Kolkata...

IPL 2019 Time Table

IPL 2019 Schedule, Venue, and Results Match 1 -Chennai Super Kings (CSK) v Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) Date: March 23, 2019 Time: 8:00 P.M Venue: M.A. Chidambaram Stadium, Chennai Match 2...

IPL Team – Kolkata Knight Riders 2019

Basic Info: Kolkata Knight Riders 2019 Team Name: Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) Founded in: 2008 Home City: Kolkata, West Bengal Home Ground: Eden Gardens, Kolkata Capacity: 90,000 Owners: Shah Rukh...