Exclusive Content:

West Indies sends Pakistan packing

Sidelights – ICC World T20 | Pakistan Vs West...

Top 10 Fishing Kayaks of 2023: Unveiling the Best-Kept Secrets to Angling Success!

Welcome to Sportycious' ultimate guide on the best fishing...

Grand Slam Tennis

Often the sports lovers across the globe do not...

KKR defeats the defending champions in the opener


Finally the wait was over. The 7th edition of the Indian Premier league took off in Abu Dhabi and with an all round decent performance by the Kolkata Knight Riders made them victorious against the defending champions Mumbai Indians. The veteran batsman Jacques Kallis and the tricky spinner Sunil Narine are to be named as the pillars of the first victory by KKR this season. With decent support by Manish Pandey KKR could manage 162 which was a must on a pitch which was slow and low. MI could not match the pace of the wicket and with Michael Hussey giving a slow start all was almost ended for MI in the first few overs itself.

IPL 7 | Match 1 | MI Vs KKR

Venue: Sheikh Zayed Stadium, Abu Dhabi

Toss: KKR and elected to bat first

Playing XIs:

KKR: Gautam Gambhir, Jacques Kallis, Manish Pandey, Robin Uthappa, Yusuf Pathan, Shakib Al Hasan, Suryakumar Yadav, Piyush Chawla, R Vinay Kumar, Sunil Narine, Morne Morkel

MI: Michael Hussey, Aditya Tare, Ambaty Rayudu, Rohit Sharma, Kieron Pollard, Corey Anderson, Harbhajan Singh, CM Gautam, Lasith Malinga, Zaheer Khan, Pragyan Ojha

Mini Score Card

KKR 163/5 (20) Run rate: 8.15

Jacques Kallis 72 (46) | Lasith Malinga 4/23 (4)

Manish Pandey 64 (53) | Zaheer Khan 1/23 (4)

MI 122/7 (20) Run rate: 6.10

Ambaty Rayudu 48 (48) | Sunil Narine 4/20 (4)

Rohit Sharma 27 (20) | Morne Morkel 1/16 (4)

Result: KKR won by 41 runs

Points: KKR 2 | MI 0

Man of the match: Jacques Kallis (KKR)

Umpires: Marais Erasmus | Richard Illingworth | Billy Bowden (TV) | K Srinath (Reserve)

Match Referee: Andy Pycroft

How they played the game

Powerplay: KKR 31 runs, 1 wicket | MI 32 runs, 1 wicket

First 50 runs: KKR 52 balls | MI 56 balls

50-100 runs: KKR 36 balls | MI 35 balls

100-150 runs: KKR 27 balls | MI 122/7 in 20 overs

Best Partnership

KKR – 2nd Wicket between Jacques Kallis (61 runs from 39 balls) and Manish Pandey (64 runs from 53 balls)

MI – 3rd Wicket between Ambaty Rayudu (30 runs from 25 balls) and Rohit Sharma (27 runs from 20 balls)

Fours and SIXES

KKR – 14 Fours (6 by Pandey, 5 by Kallis and 3 by Yadav) | 5 SIXES (3 by Kallis and 2 by Pandey)

MI – 7 Fours (4 by Rayudu, 2 by Tare and 1 by Gautam) | 2 SIXES (One each by Tare and Sharma)

Important fact about the match:

  • Sunil Narine became the fastest bowler to achieve 50 wickets in the IPL.

In the pic: Jacques Kallis sweeps

Pic Courtesy: ESPN-Cricinfo 


Soccer Players and Eyewear: On and Off The Field

Soccer is not a game one would usually associate...

Madison Square Garden Bag Policy: What You Need to Know

Madison Square Garden is one of the most popular...

ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024: Everything You Need to Know

The ICC Men's T20 World Cup is one of...

Game, Set, Dry Fast! The Rapid Rise of Fast Dry Clay Tennis Courts

What are Fast Dry Clay Courts? Fast dry clay tennis...



Must Check

Best Cooler for Kayaking: Keep Your Drinks and Snacks Cold on the Water

The Best Cooler for Kayaking is a crucial addition...

The Ultimate Guide: How to Transport a Kayak Safely and Hassle-Free

Transporting a kayak can feel overwhelming if you're unfamiliar...

Wetsuit for Kayaking: The Ultimate Guide to Master the Waves

When it comes to kayaking, one of the most...

Top 10 Fishing Kayaks of 2023: Unveiling the Best-Kept Secrets to Angling Success!

Welcome to Sportycious' ultimate guide on the best fishing...

Ultimate Kayaking Footwear: Discover the best Shoes for Paddling Perfection

Dive into the world of kayaking with confidence, as...

Don't miss

Various Types of Golf Club Grips

  In any sport in which a prop plays a...

Player Profile – Marin Cilic

This is a player profile of Marin Cilic the...

Oaka Stadium

Oaka, The Olympic Stadium of Athens "Spyros Louis" is...

Nadal’s Hide and Seek Game with ATP World Tour Finals

Every single tennis fan in this world is currently...

Rugby Mad: Which Countries Love the Game Most?

As a sport that delivers fast-paced matches complete with...
David Whisler, the maestro of editing at Sportycious, brings a touch of panache to the world of sports journalism. With an eagle eye for detail and a flair for enthralling storytelling, David ensures Sportycious remains the go-to destination for readers seeking an exhilarating and enlightening experience. When not juggling commas and semicolons, you'll find David enthusiastically supporting his favourite teams and indulging in his own sporting escapades.

IPL 2020 Squad List: Full Squad List of all Eight Teams

After thrilling bidding wars and a whopping Rs 140.30 crore being spent, as the squads of eight franchises took final shape unfolded in Kolkata...

IPL 2019 Time Table

IPL 2019 Schedule, Venue, and Results Match 1 -Chennai Super Kings (CSK) v Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) Date: March 23, 2019 Time: 8:00 P.M Venue: M.A. Chidambaram Stadium, Chennai Match 2...

IPL Team – Kolkata Knight Riders 2019

Basic Info: Kolkata Knight Riders 2019 Team Name: Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) Founded in: 2008 Home City: Kolkata, West Bengal Home Ground: Eden Gardens, Kolkata Capacity: 90,000 Owners: Shah Rukh...