KKR Qualifies for the Final with Comfortable Victory over KXIP



KXIP had a smooth ride till now, but the real test was in this match. The fantastic start they had made sure that they are going to qualify for the playoffs in any case but then what? To be very honest their long, strong and rock stars filled batting line up found wanting against the measured bowling of KKR in this match. Of course, there was a pressure of Duckworth Lewis as the rain was kept on coming and going, but then that is where you need to perform and sadly KXIP could not. In the end the KKR juggernaut claimed another victim.

IPL 7 | Qualifier 1 | KKR Vs KXIP



Venue: Eden Gardens, Kolkata

Toss: KXIP and elected to field first

Playing XIs:

KKR: Robin Uthappa, Gautam Gambhir, Manish Pandey, Shakib Al Hasan, Yusuf Pathan, Ryan ten Doeschate, Suryakumar Yadav, Piyush Chawla, Sunil Narine, Morne Morkel, Umesh Yadav

KXIP: Virender Sehwag, Manan Vohra, Wriddhiman Saha, Glenn Maxwell, David Miller, Akshar Patel, George Bailey, Rishi Dhawan, Mitchell Johnson, Karanveer Singh, Parvinder Awana

Mini Score Card:

KKR 163/8 (20) Run rate: 8.15

Robin Uthappa 42 (30) | Karanveer Singh 3/40 (4)

Manish Pandey 21 (20) | Akshar Patel 2/11 (4)

KXIP 135/8 (20) Run rate: 6.75

Wriddhiman Saha 35 (31) | Umesh Yadav 3/13 (4)

George Bailey 26 (17) | Morne Morkel 2/23 (4)

Result: KKR won the match by 28 runs and advanced to the IPL 7 finals

Man of the match: Umesh Yadav

Umpires: Nigel Llong | S Ravi | C Shamsuddin (3rd) | CK Nandan (Reserve)

Match Referee: Roshan Mahanama

How they played the game:

Powerplay: KKR 55 runs, 1 wicket | KXIP 46 runs, 2 wickets

First 50 runs: KKR 34 balls | KXIP 39 balls

50-100 runs: KKR 47 balls | KXIP 58 balls

100-150 runs: KKR 34 balls | KXIP 135/8 (20)

EXTRAS: KXIP 7 (4 LB, 3 Wd) | KKR 5 (3 LB, 2 Wd)

Best Partnership

KKR: 2nd wicket – 65 runs off 42 balls between Uthappa 41 (25) and Pandey 21 (17)

KXIP: 2nd wicket – 40 runs off 28 balls between Vohra 24 (15) and Saha 15 (13)

Fours and SIXES

KKR 17 Fours – 4 by Uthappa, 3 each by Pandey, S. Yadav and Chawla, 2 each by Shakib and Pathan | 6 SIXES – 2 each by Uthappa and ten Doeschate, 1 each by Pathan and S.  Yadav

KXIP 4 Fours – 2 By Saha, 1 each by Maxwell and Bailey | 9 SIXES – 3 by Vohra, 2 each by Saha and Bailey, 1 each by Dhawan and Johnson

Important facts about the match

  • This was KKR’s 8th win in a row this season.
  • Robin Uthappa now holds the record of the highest run scorer in an IPL season by an Indian.

In the PIC: Umesh Yadav’s bowling made the difference for KKR

Picture Courtesy: ESPN – Cricinfo