This article is all about the information you want for the Premier Turkish Football League which is called Super Lig. This article will provide you the basic details about the Turkish Premier League of football with its brief history, names of the participating clubs and the structure of the league. So let us make ourselves aware about the Turkish Football League – Super League.

Turkish Super League

The Super Lig of Turkey is another premier football league of another European nation which is associated with the UEFA. The Super Lig was established in 1959 and at that time it was known as Milli Lig. There are 18 participating teams in the Super Lig and it has only one team at the top of the table to consider the champion. The relegated teams play for the TFF First League. Turkiye Kupasi and Super Kupa are the two names of the domestic trophies. The winners of the Super Lig gets qualified to play in the UEFA Champions League and UEFA Europa League. Fenerbahce is the current champions of the Super Lig. Ferbahce is also the leading champions in the Super Lig along with Galatasaray. Both the clubs have won 19 titles in total.

Oguz Cetin is the most capped player in the Super Lig with 503 matches, where as Hakan Sukur has scored most number of goals in the Super Lig, which stands at 249. is the official website of the Super Lig. Lig TV is the official broadcaster of the Super Lig where TRT has the rights to show the highlights of Turkey only. MP & Silva has rights for the global highlights.

History about Super Lig

It all started in the 19th century when some of the Englishmen bought football in Turkey. They started to play the game in Thessaloniki, the port city and the first ever competition for football were the Istanbul Football League which started in a 1904-05 season. Later in 1937 when few more teams from the different cities of Turkey started playing football a Milli Lig was established a few years later in 1959 and that became the base for the current Super Lig.

Format of the Super Lig

The format of the Super Lig is same as any other premier league of any European football country. The top team at the end of playing both the home and away games is declared champion and bottom placed three teams get relegated to the TFF First League.

Teams Qualified to Play the 2014-15 Season of the Super Lig (Turkey)

  • Akhisar Belediyespor
  • Balikesispor
  • Besiktas
  • Bursaspor
  • Caykur Rizespor
  • Eskisehirspor
  • Fenerbahce
  • Galatasaray
  • Gaziantepspor
  • Genclerbirligi
  • Istanbul Basaksehir FK
  • Kardemir Demir Celik Karabukspor
  • Kasimpasa
  • Kayseri Erciyesspor
  • Mersin Idmanyurdu
  • Konyaspor
  • Sivasspor
  • Trabzonspor


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here