Exclusive Content:

Gaddafi Stadium – The Home of Pakistan Cricket

Since Pakistan's inception, Lahore has been the main city...

Top 5 Manchester United players ever

A club which has a history of 135 years...

All about Mineirao Stadium

The Mineirao Stadium which has hosted 6 FIFA World...

Kohli takes India to their second World T20 final

Sidelights – ICC World T20 | India Vs South Africa

The toughest challenge India supposed to get in this tournament after Pakistan, was against South Africa. Looking at Proteas’ current form which was a bit not up to the mark, India was having a nose in front before the game got started and it’s exactly ended on the same note. India chased down a big total with five deliveries to spare and now they will make a repeat of ICC World Cup 2011 in the finals of this ICC World T20.

ICC World T20 | 2nd Semifinal | India Vs South Africa


Venue: Shere Bangla National Stadium, Mirpur

Toss: South Africa and elected to bat first

Playing XIs:

South Africa: Quinton de Kock, Hashim Amla, Faf du Plessis, Jean Paul Duminy, AB de Villiers, David Miller, Albie Morkel, Dale Steyn, Beuran Hendricks, Imran Tahir, Wayne Parnell

India: Rohit Sharma, Ajinkya Rahane, Virat Kohli, Yuvraj Singh, Suresh Raina, Mahendra Singh Dhoni, Ravindra Jadeja, Amit Mishra, Bhuvaneshwar Kumar, Mohit Sharma

Mini Score Card

South Africa 172/4 (20) – Faf du Plessis 58 (41) | Ravichandran Ashwin 3/22 (4)

India 176/4 (19.1) – Virat Kohli 72* (44) | Beuran Hendricks 2/31 (4)

Result: India won by 6 wickets and advanced to the finals.

Man of the match: Virat Kohli (India)

Umpires: Kumar Dharmasena (Sri Lanka) | Ian Gould (England) | Bruce Oxenford (3rd – Australia) | Richard Kettleborough (Reserve – England)

Match Referee: Ranjan Madugalle (Sri Lanka)

How they played the game

Powerplay: South Africa 44 runs, 2 Wickets | India 56 runs, 1 Wicket

First 50 runs: South Africa 44 balls | India 30 balls

50-100 runs: South Africa 31 balls | India 35 balls

100-150 runs: South Africa 36 balls | India 26 balls

Best Partnership

South Africa 3rd Wicket – 71 runs off 53 balls | Contributors: Faf du Plessis 46 (30) and Jean Paul Duminy 22* (23)

India 3rd Wicket – 56 runs off 39 balls | Contributors: Virat Kohli 37*(22) and Yuvraj Singh 18(17)


South Africa- 14 (Faf du Plessis – 5, Hashim Amla – 4, David Miller – 2, Quinton de Kock, Jean Paul Duminy and AB de Villiers – 1)

India – 16 (Virat Kohli – 5, Rohit Sharma – 4, Suresh Raina – 3, Ajinkya Rahane and Yuvraj Singh – 2)


South Africa – 6 (Jean Paul Duminy – 3, Faf du Plessis – 2, David Miller – 1)

India – 5 (Virat Kohli – 2, Rohit Sharma, Ajinkya Rahane and Suresh Raina – 1)

Important facts about the match:

  • South Africa have not won a single ICC knockout match for last 14 years.
  • India has never lost a Semifinal under Mahendra Singh Dhoni’s captaincy.
  • This was the first time that South Africa has lost a T20I game after posting 170 runs, batting first.
  • Virat Kohli is now the top run scorer of the tournament.

In the pic: Yuvraj Singh lifts Virat Kohli after India’s win

Picture Courtesy: ESPN Cricinfo 


Mastering Pickleball Court Size: Dimensions, Comparisons, and Conversions

Are you ready to delve into the world of...

Smashing Success: How to Serve Up Your Own Backyard Pickleball Paradise!

Pickleball, a sport that blends elements of tennis, badminton,...

Elevate Your Pickleball Performance with the Ultimate Guide to Pickleball Socks

Are you ready to propel your pickleball prowess to...

Most Valuable Sports Teams 2023: Unveiling the Titans of the Game

In the exhilarating world of sports, passion and prowess...



Must Check

Best Cooler for Kayaking: Keep Your Drinks and Snacks Cold on the Water

The Best Cooler for Kayaking is a crucial addition...

The Ultimate Guide: How to Transport a Kayak Safely and Hassle-Free

Transporting a kayak can feel overwhelming if you're unfamiliar...

Wetsuit for Kayaking: The Ultimate Guide to Master the Waves

When it comes to kayaking, one of the most...

Top 10 Fishing Kayaks of 2023: Unveiling the Best-Kept Secrets to Angling Success!

Welcome to Sportycious' ultimate guide on the best fishing...

Ultimate Kayaking Footwear: Discover the best Shoes for Paddling Perfection

Dive into the world of kayaking with confidence, as...

Don't miss

Top 5 WAGs of Football Players of the World

WAGs or the Wives or Girlfriends of sports persons...

Player Profile – Phil Mickelson

Basic Information about Phil Mickelson Full Name: Philip Alfred...

Eredivisie – Everything About The Netherlands Football League

The Eredivisie , also known as the Netherlands Division...

How To Get The Most Out Of A Golf Holiday

When a vacation is hard to come by you...

NSC Olimpiyskiy

The Olympic National Sports Complex (NSC Olimpiyskiy) located in...
David Whisler, the maestro of editing at Sportycious, brings a touch of panache to the world of sports journalism. With an eagle eye for detail and a flair for enthralling storytelling, David ensures Sportycious remains the go-to destination for readers seeking an exhilarating and enlightening experience. When not juggling commas and semicolons, you'll find David enthusiastically supporting his favourite teams and indulging in his own sporting escapades.

The West Indies – Strength in diversity

The West Indies cricket team is a diverse mix of players representing 15 English-speaking countries and territories surrounded by the Caribbean Sea and the...

List of IPL Team Owners (2021)

Indian Premier League (IPL) is a yearly cricket tournament hosted in India every year. It has witnessed 13 seasons to date. There have been...

Cricket World Cup Winners & Runners up List (1975-2019)

The cricket world cup is an international championship of one day international cricket. This event is organised by the sports governing body which takes...