All about MotoGP


Passionate bike loving people love the MotoGP and Formula 1 racing with equal enthusiasm. Let us know all about MotoGP here.

All about MotoGP

Category: Motorcycle Sport

Played: Internationally

Established in: 1949

Variants: 3 – MotoGP World Championship, Moto2 World Championship and Moto3 World Championship

Governing Body: Federation Internationale de Motocyclisme (FIM), rights owned by Dorna Sports.

Associated Bodies: International Road Racing Teams Association (IRTA) and the Motorcycle Sport Manufacturers Association (MSMA)

Official Website:

The 3 Variants of MotoGP

  • MotoGP World Championship

    • Constructors: Ducati, Honda, Yamaha
    • Tyre Suppliers: Bridgestone
    • Current Champion (Rider): Marc Marquez (Spain)
    • Current Constructors’ Champion: Honda
  • Moto2 World Championship

    • Constructors: Kalex, Suter, Speed Up, Motobi, FTR, Tech 3
    • Tyre Suppliers: Dunlop
    • Current Champion (Rider): Pol Espargaro (Spain)
    • Current Constructors’ Champion: Kalex
  • Moto3 World Championship

    • Constructors: KTM, Mahindra, FTR, Honda, Kalex
    • Tyre Suppliers: Dunlop
    • Current Champion (Rider): Maverick Vinales (Spain)
    • Constructors’ Champion: KTM

MotoGP Overview

MotoGP or the Road Racing World Championship Grand Prix is considered to be the premier motorcycle road racing championship. It has been classified in 3 different classes like MotoGP, Moto2 and Moto3. Motorcycles on offer in all these three classes use four stroke engines. Till the year 2010 there was a separate 250 cc two stroke motorcycles but on that very year it was replaced by the new Moto2 600 cc four stroke class competition.

Similarly the 125 cc two stroke competition was replaced by the Moto3 250 cc four stroke class competition, but with a weight limit of 65 kg which includes the fuel. The engine capacity for the MotoGP championship was increased to 1000 cc from 800 cc for the same year.

The difference between MotoGP vehicles and Superbike World Championships is that the bikes used in all three classes of MotoGP championships are not available for the public in general and it is even illegal if a normal person own such bike for his/her personal usages, where as in the Superbike World Championships are concerned the modified versions of its bikes are easily available in the market for purchasing.

The rules and regulations for the MotoGP are decided by the four main bodies, Federation International de Motorcyclisme (FIM), Drona Sports, International Road Racing Teams Association (IRTA) and the Motorcycle Sport Manufacturers Association (MSMA). The Drona Sports has a casting vote in case of technical modifications, whereas the MSMA has a veto. All these three bodies jointly create the Grand Prix Commission.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here