Tuesday, February 7, 2023

A Preview of Australian Open 2015

- Advertisement -

The New Year has arrived and tennis players will start to gear up for the New Year season after a long break of around 4 to 6 weeks. As always the first grand slam of the year 2015 will be the Australian Open. Before the first grand slam kicks of in Melbourne, players from both ATP and WTA circuits will try and warm up in various ATP/WTA and non ATP/WTA events in Brisbane, Sydney, and Adelaide and in Perth for the Fed Cup. Let us have a preview for the first grand slam of the year 2015, the Australian Open.

A Preview of Australian Open 2015

A Preview of Australian Open 2015

Dates: 19th January to 1st February

Edition: 103rd

Draw: 128S | 64D | 32X

Surface: Hard (Plexicushion)

Venue: MelbournePark, Melbourne, Victoria, Australia

Total Prize Money: A$ 36, 300, 000

Australian Open 2014 Champions

  • Men’s Singles – Stan Wawrinka
  • Women’s Singles – Li Na
  • Men’s Doubles – Lukasz Kubot and Robert Lindstedt
  • Women’s Doubles – Sara Errani and Roberta Vinci
  • Mixed Doubles – Kristina Mladenovic and Daniel Nestor

More about Australian Open 2015

This will be the 103rd edition of the Australian Open and as always since the middle of 1980s the tournament will be played at Melbourne Park in Melbourne, state of Victoria in Australia. The tournament is overseen by the International Tennis Federation or ITF and will be part of the ATP World Tour 2015 and also the WTA Tour 2015. The tournament comes under the grand slam category for both men and women variants. Along with the singles, doubles and mixed doubles will also be the part of the Australian Open this time around as well. The boys, girls, wheelchair tennis and the legends doubles will also be played in the Australian Open.

The three major courts in which the big and top ranked players will appear are the Rod Laver Arena, Hisense Arena and Margaret Court Arena. The organizers of this years Australian Open have changed their heat policy this year following the harsh criticism about it last year. The champions in the Men’s singles, Women’s singles, Doubles (both men and women) will get 2000 points from both ATP and WTA.

The Official Broadcasters of the Australian Open 2015 Worldwide

  • Seven Network in Australia and Asia/Pacific
  • CCTV, iQiyi and SMG in China
  • Fiji One in Fiji
  • Sony SIX in India
  • WOWOW and NHK in Japan
  • FOX Sports Asia and Sky Sports in New Zealand
  • Eurosport and NOS in the Netherlands
  • SRG SSR in Switzerland
  • BBC in United Kingdom
  • beIN Sports in the Middle East
  • SuperSport in Africa
  • ESPN in the United States and Canada
- Advertisement -
Check this out
- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -