Thursday, February 2, 2023

All round performance powers India to the Semis

- Advertisement -

Sidelights – ICC World T20 | Bangladesh Vs India

The unstoppable Team India has marched on to the Semi Finals after an easy win against the hosts Bangladesh. After a long time India has achieved an outright entry into a next round and not have to wait for what the others perform for their chances. First Amit Mishra then Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli did not allow the hosts to have any chance to get a grip on the match. Shikhar Dhawan and Yuvraj Singh are still few causes of concerns which may be solved during the match against Australia.

ICC World T20 | Group 2 | Match 24 | Bangladesh Vs India

Virat Kohli and Rohit Sharma joggs a run during their 100 runs partnership

Venue: Shere Bangla National Stadium, Mirpur

Toss: India and elected to field first

Playing XIs:

Bangladesh: Tamim Iqbal, Anamul Haque, Shamsur Rahman, Shakib Al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim, Nasir Hossain, Mahmudullah, Ziaur Rahman, Mashrafe Mortaza, Sohag Gazi, Al-Amin Hossain

India: Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Mahendra Singh Dhoni, Yuvraj Singh, Suresh Raina, Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Amit Mishra, Bhuvaneshwar Kumar, Mohammed Shami

Mini Score Card:

Bangladesh 138/7 (20) – Anamul Haque 44 (43) | Amit Mishra 3/26 (4)

India 141/2 (18.3) – Virat Kohli 57* (50) | Mashrafe Mortaza 1/23 (4)

Result: India won by 8 wickets

Points: India 2 (6), Bangladesh 0

Man of the match: Ravichandran Ashwin (India)

Umpires: Kumar Dharmasena (Sri Lanka) | Richard Kettleborough (England) | Marais Erasmus (3rd – South Africa) | Ian Gould (Reserve – England)

Match Referee: Ranjan Madugalle

How they played the game

Powerplay: Bangladesh 27 runs, 3 wickets | India 39 runs, 1 wicket

First 50 runs: Bangladesh 51 balls | India 43 balls

50-100 runs: Bangladesh 46 balls | India 38 balls

Best Partnership

Bangladesh 6th Wicket 49 runs off 37 balls | Contributors: Mahmudullah 32 (21) and ANamul Haque 10 (11)

India 2nd Wicket 100 runs off 76 balls | Contributors: Virat Kohli 52* (43) and Rohit Sharma 44 (33)


Bangladesh 14 (Anamul Haque and Mahmudullah 5, Mushfiqur Rahim 4, Tamim Iqbal and Nasir Hossain 1)

India 9 (Rohit Sharma 5, Virat Kohli 3, Mahendra Singh Dhoni 1)


Bangladesh 4 (Anamul Haque 2, Mahmudullah and Mashrafe Mortaza 1)

India 4 (Mahendra Singh Dhoni 2, Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli 1)

Important facts about the match

  • India is the only team along with Nepal which has not conceded more than 140 runs in this tournament
  • This is the first time India has reached the knock-out stage after their victory of the 1st ever World T20 tournament in South Africa in 2007.

In the pic: Virat Kohli and Rohit Sharma jog a run during their 100 runs partnership

Picture Courtesy: ESPN Cricinfo 

- Advertisement -
Check this out
- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -