Saturday, April 1, 2023

Everything you Want to Know about Rugby World Cup 2015 – England

- Advertisement -

The eighth Rugby World Cup is scheduled to be held in England between 18th September to 31st October in the year 2015. The Twickenham Stadium in London will host the finals of the Rugby World Cup 2015.

How England Won the Bid to Host the Rugby World Cup 2015?

Everything you Want to Know about Rugby World Cup 2015 – EnglandIn the year 2008 the International Rugby Board or IRB invited the bids to host the 2015 Rugby World Cup. The closing date for the bidding was finalized at 15th of August 2008. Australia, Ireland, England, Italy, Japan, Jamaica, Scotland, Russia, Wales and South Africa shown interest in placing the bid to host the IRB Rugby World Cup 2015. Even Argentina in the initial stages shown its interest, but later declined to do so. Out of those ten interested nations, many withdrew their bids for the one reason or the other by 2009. Russia wanted to concentrate on bidding for the 2013 Rugby Sevens World Cup, Australia and Ireland withdrew due to financial constraints. Scotland did not manage to find a suitable co host, hence it too withdrew and Wales failed to submit the bid within the deadline and backed England’s bid instead. So in the end only four nations left in the fray, which were Japan, South Africa, England and Italy. On 28th July 2009, the IRB confirmed that both England and Japan have won the bids to host the 2015 and 2019 World Cups respectively, with the margin of 16-10 in their favor.

IRB Rugby World Cup 2015 Venues

After Wales supported the England bid, it was decided that few of the Rugby World Cup 2015 matches will also be played at Cardiff’s Millennium Stadium as well. The rest of the venues for the Rugby World Cup 2015 are as follows.

  • Twickenham Stadium, London – Capacity: 82, 000
  • Wembley Stadium, London – Capacity: 90, 000
  • Millennium Stadium, Cardiff – Capacity: 74, 500
  • Manchester City Stadium, Manchester – Capacity: 56, 000
  • Olympic Stadium, London – Capacity: 54, 000
  • St. James’ Park, Newcastle – Capacity: 52, 387
  • Villa Park, Birmingham – Capacity: 42, 788
  • Elland Road, Leeds – Capacity: 37, 900
  • Leicester City Stadium, Leicester – Capacity: 32, 262
  • Kingsholm Stadium, Gloucester – Capacity: 16, 500
  • Sandy Park, Exeter – Capacity: 12, 500
  • Stadium mk, Milton Keynes – Capacity: 30, 500
  • Brighton Community Stadium, Brighton – Capacity: 30, 750

Pools for the Rugby World Cup 2015 England

  • Pool A

    • Australia
    • England
    • Wales
    • Oceania 1
    • Playoff Winner
  • Pool B

    • South Africa
    • Samoa
    • Scotland
    • Japan
    • United States of America
  • Pool C

    • New Zealand
    • Argentina
    • Tonga
    • Georgia
    • Africa 1
  • Pool D

    • France
    • Ireland
    • Italy
    • Canada
    • Romania

Everything you Want to Know about Rugby World Cup 2015 – England

- Advertisement -
David Whisler, the maestro of editing at Sportycious, brings a touch of panache to the world of sports journalism. With an eagle eye for detail and a flair for enthralling storytelling, David ensures Sportycious remains the go-to destination for readers seeking an exhilarating and enlightening experience. When not juggling commas and semicolons, you'll find David enthusiastically supporting his favourite teams and indulging in his own sporting escapades.
Check this out
- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -