Exclusive Content:

Revolutionizing the Game: The Rise of Smart Basketball Technology

Smart basketball is a new and innovative concept that...

IRB Hall of Fame – A Tribute to Rugby Greats

There is a famous say in sports that, “No...

See What the Greats Say About the Game of Rugby!!

“Rugby is great. The players don’t wear helmets or...

Sri Lanka takes the cup as India fumbles at the final hurdle

Sidelights – ICC World T20 | Final | India Vs Sri Lanka

Let us accept it! Sri Lanka was a far better team on the day and was deserved to win the game. India on the other hand did exceptionally well to win all the matches they played in the tournament but fumbled horribly when perhaps mattered the most. Sri Lankans bowled according to a plan which was to ball just wide outside the off stump and full and suddenly in the last five overs India lost the plot from which they never recovered till Thissara Perera hit the winning six.

ICC World T20 | Final | India Vs Sri Lanka

Kumar Sangakkara and Mahela Jayawardene bidding adieu to T20I in style

Venue: Shere Bangla National Stadium, Mirpur

Toss: Sri Lanka and elected to field first

Playing XIs:

India: Rohit Sharma, Ajinkya Rahane, Virat Kohli, Yuvraj Singh, Mahendra Singh Dhoni, Suresh Raina, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Amit Mishra, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohit Sharma

Sri Lanka: Kusal Perera, Tillakratne Dilshan, Mahela Jayawardene, Kumar Sangakkara, Lahiru Thirimanne, Thisara Perera, Angelo Mathews, Nuwan Kulasekara, Suchitra Senanayake, Rangana Herath, Lasith Malinga

Mini Score Card:

India 130/4 (20) Virat Kohli 77 (58) | Rangana Herath 1/23 (4)

Sri Lanka 134/4 (17.5) Kumar Sangakkara 52* (35) | Suresh Raina 1/24 (4)

Result: Sri Lanka won the match and ICC World T20 tournament 2014

Man of the match: Kumar Sangakkara (Sri Lanka)

Player of the tournament: Virat Kohli (India)

Umpires: Ian Gould and Richard Kettleborough (Both England) | Rod Tucker (3rd – Australia) | Bruce Oxenford (Reserve – Australia)

Match Referee: David Boon (Australia)

How they played the game

Powerplay: India 31 runs, 1 wicket | Sri Lanka 41 runs, 2 wickets

First 50 runs: India 54 balls | Sri Lanka 49 balls

50-100 runs: India 37 balls | Sri Lanka 43 balls

Best Partnership

India 2nd Wicket – 60 runs off 54 balls | Contributors: Virat Kohli 31 (29) and Rohit Sharma 28 (25)

Sri Lanka 5th Wicket – 56 runs off 32 balls | Contributors: Kumar Sangakkara 29*(18) and Thissara Perera 23* (14)


India – 8 (Virat Kohli – 5, Rohit Sharma – 3)

Sri Lanka – 16 (Kumar Sangakkara – 6, Tillakratne Dilshan and Mahela Jayawardene – 4, Kusal Perera and Lahiru Thirimanne – 1)


India – 4 (Virat Kohli)

Sri Lanka – 4 (Thissara Perera -3, Kumar Sangakkara – 1)

Important facts about the match

  • India’s score of 130/4 was the lowest first innings total in all ICC World T20 finals.
  • Virat Kohli became the leading run scorer in any World T20.
  • This is Sri Lanka’s 1st ever ICC World T20 wins in 3 trials.
  • Mahela Jayawardene and Kumar Sangakkara have retired from the International T20s.

In the pic: Kumar Sangakkara and Mahela Jayawardene bidding adieu to T20I in style

Picture Courtesy: ESPN Cricinfo 


Soccer Players and Eyewear: On and Off The Field

Soccer is not a game one would usually associate...

Madison Square Garden Bag Policy: What You Need to Know

Madison Square Garden is one of the most popular...

ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024: Everything You Need to Know

The ICC Men's T20 World Cup is one of...

Game, Set, Dry Fast! The Rapid Rise of Fast Dry Clay Tennis Courts

What are Fast Dry Clay Courts? Fast dry clay tennis...



Must Check

Best Cooler for Kayaking: Keep Your Drinks and Snacks Cold on the Water

The Best Cooler for Kayaking is a crucial addition...

The Ultimate Guide: How to Transport a Kayak Safely and Hassle-Free

Transporting a kayak can feel overwhelming if you're unfamiliar...

Wetsuit for Kayaking: The Ultimate Guide to Master the Waves

When it comes to kayaking, one of the most...

Top 10 Fishing Kayaks of 2023: Unveiling the Best-Kept Secrets to Angling Success!

Welcome to Sportycious' ultimate guide on the best fishing...

Ultimate Kayaking Footwear: Discover the best Shoes for Paddling Perfection

Dive into the world of kayaking with confidence, as...

Don't miss

All You Need To Know About Water Polo

Introduction On Water Polo: Water Polo is a team sport...

All you want to know about Ice Canoeing

Ice Canoeing was originally the idea for winter transport...

Some of the Interesting Records from Fed Cup

As we know now that Fed Cup has been...

What is ATP in tennis?

 All the tennis fans are generally interested in the...

Here Are The Reasons Why David Moyes Was Sacked By Manchester United

The die hard Manchester United fans are still coming...
David Whisler, the maestro of editing at Sportycious, brings a touch of panache to the world of sports journalism. With an eagle eye for detail and a flair for enthralling storytelling, David ensures Sportycious remains the go-to destination for readers seeking an exhilarating and enlightening experience. When not juggling commas and semicolons, you'll find David enthusiastically supporting his favourite teams and indulging in his own sporting escapades.

ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024: Everything You Need to Know

The ICC Men's T20 World Cup is one of the most anticipated cricket tournaments in the world. It is a biennial Twenty20 International (T20I)...

The West Indies – Strength in diversity

The West Indies cricket team is a diverse mix of players representing 15 English-speaking countries and territories surrounded by the Caribbean Sea and the...

List of IPL Team Owners (2021)

Indian Premier League (IPL) is a yearly cricket tournament hosted in India every year. It has witnessed 13 seasons to date. There have been...