Tuesday, December 6, 2022

Steyn ensures last ball win for South Africa

- Advertisement -

Sidelights – ICC World T20 | New Zealand Vs South Africa

 The stakes were high. Both the teams needed a win but probably South Africa was more desperate as they have already lost a game before. The booster for Proteas was the return of their captain Faf du Plessis, although he did not do anything special with the bat but he certainly rotated his premier fast bowler Dale Steyn when it mattered the most. At one stage with 140/4 in the 17th over New Zealand was looking to over haul the target of 170 with relative ease but Steyn just ran through the middle and lower middle order batting of the New Zealand line up and gave his team a memorable win along with a chance to remain in the hunt for the next round.

ICC World T20 | Group 1 | Match 18 | New Zealand Vs South Africa

Steyn ensures last ball win for South Africa

Venue: Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium, Chittagong

Toss: New Zealand and elected to field first

Playing XIs:

South Africa: Quinton de Kock, Hashim Amla, Faf du Plessis, AB de Villiers, Jean Paul Duminy, David Miller, Albie Morkel, Dale Steyn, Morne Morkel, Imran Tahir, Lonwabo Tsotsobe

New Zealand: Martin Guptill, Kane Williamson, Brandon McCullum, Ross Taylor, Colin Munro, Corry Anderson, Luke Ronchi, Nathan McCullum, Tim Southee, Kyle Mills, Mitchell McClenaghan

Mini Score Card:

South Africa 170/6 (20) – Jean Paul Duminy 86* (43) | Corey Anderson 2/28 (3)

New Zealand 168/8 (20) – Ross Taylor 62 (37) | Dale Steyn 4/17 (4)

Result: South Africa won by 2 runs

Points: South Africa 2, New Zealand 0 (2)

Man of the match: Jean Paul Duminy (South Africa)

Umpires: Aleem Dar (Pakistan) | S Ravi (India) | Paul Reiffel (3rd – Australia) | Rod Tucker (Reserve – Australia)

Match Referee: Javagal Srinath (India)

How they played the game

Powerplay: South Africa 39 runs, 2 wickets | New Zealand 47 runs, 0 wicket

First 50 runs: South Africa 49 balls | New Zealand 38 balls

50-100 runs: South Africa 41 balls | New Zealand 31 balls

100-150 runs: South Africa 23 balls | New Zealand 39 balls

Best Partnership

South Africa 4th Wicket – 55 runs off 44 balls | Contributors: Jean Paul Duminy 33* *(22) and Hashim Amla 21 (22)

New Zealand 1st Wicket – 57 runs off 43 balls | Contributors: Kane Williamson 34 (18) and Martin Guptill 22 (25)


South Africa 16 | 10 – Jean Paul Duminy | 2 – Hashim Amla and Faf du Plessis | 1 – AB de Villiers and David Miller

New Zealand 16 | 5 – Kane Williamson | 4 – Ross Taylor | 3 – Martin Guptill | 1 – Colin Munro, Cory Anderson, Luke Ronchi, Nathan McCullum


South Africa 4 | 3 – Jean Paul Duminy | 1 – Albie Morkel

New Zealand 5 | 3 – Ross Taylor | 2 – Kane Williamson

Important facts of the match

  • South Africa has never lost a game after posting 170 runs batting first
  • Kane Williamson has scored  his maiden T20I fifty in this match
  • Ross Taylor’s 50 from 26 balls is his fastest till now
  • AB de Villiers became the 50th T20I victim of Nathan McCullum. McCullum became only the eighth bowler to achieve the feat.
  • Dale Steyn’s 16 dot balls are second highest dot balls in T20I. He equaled his own record against Zimbabwe in 2012 World T20. Best is Charl Langeveldt’s 19 dot balls against Afghanistan in 2010 World T20.
  • Dale Steyn’s figures of 4/17 is his personal best in World T20.

In the pic: Dale Steyn celebrates Kane Williamson’s wicket

Picture Courtesy: ESPN Cricinfo 

- Advertisement -
Check this out
- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -