Exclusive Content:

Laredo Lemurs Baseball

Baseball is one of the bat and ball games...

Player Profile – Wayne Rooney

Basic Information Full Name: Wayne Mark Rooney Date of Birth: 24th...

F1 Hopeful Indian Jehan Daruvala Gets Fortec Contract

Jehan Daruvala a known F1 hopeful, not only in...

Cricket World Cup Winners & Runners up List (1975-2019)

The cricket world cup is an international championship of one day international cricket. This event is organised by the sports governing body which takes place every four years.The tournament is said to be one of the world’s most viewed sporting events and is considered the ‘flagship event of the international cricket calendar’ by ICC. England has been the host country of the world cup where maximum tournaments were played along with the very first one which was organised in June 1975. 12 World Cup tournaments have been held till date; Australia being the most successful country, winning the cup 5 times, India and West Indies follows Australia closely, to have won the cup 2 times each. Pakistan, Sri Lanka and England have won the cup once. England is the only country to have hosted the world cup 5 times and lost 4 times. 10 teams competed for the title in the recent 2019 tournament.


The following table represents the Year, Venue, Winners, Runners Up and Results of the ICC World cup Tournament.

1975Lord’s, LondonWest IndiesAustraliaWest Indies won by 17 runs
1979Lord’s, LondonWest IndiesEnglandWest Indies won by 92 runs
1983Lord’s, LondonIndiaWest IndiesIndia won by 43 runs
1987Eden garden, KolkataAustraliaEnglandAustralia won by 7 runs
1992Melbourne cricket ground, AustraliaPakistanEnglandPakistan won by 22 runs
1996Gaddafi Stadium, PakistanSri LankaAustraliaSri Lanka won by 7 wickets
1999Lord’s, LondonAustraliaPakistanAustralia won by 8 wickets
2003Imperial wanderers stadium, south AfricaAustraliaIndiaAustralia won by 125 runs
2007Kensington oval, BarbadosAustraliaSri LankaAustralia won by 53 runs
2011Wankhede stadium, MumbaiIndiaSri LankaIndia won by 6 wickets
2015Melbourne cricket ground, AustraliaAustraliaNew ZealandAustralia won by 7 wickets
2019Lord’s, LondonEnglandNew ZealandTied match, England won in super over.

Cricket World Cup Summary (1975-2019):

World Cup 1975 Final

  • Winner: West Indies
  • Runner Up: England
  • Final match result: 17 runs
  • Host Nation: England & Wales
  • Man of the match: Clive Llyod

World Cup 1979 Final

  • Winner: West Indies
  • Runner Up: England
  • Final match result: 92 runs
  • Host Nation: England & Wales
  • Man of the match: Viv Richards

World Cup 1983 Final

  • Winner: India
  • Runner Up: West Indies
  • Final match result: 43 runs
  • Host Nation: England & Wales
  • Man of the match: Mohinder Amarnath

World Cup 1987 Final

  • Winner: Australia
  • Runner Up: England
  • Final match result: 7 runs
  • Host Nation: India & Pakistan
  • Man of the match: David Boon

World Cup 1992 Final

  • Winner: Pakistan
  • Runner Up: England
  • Final match result: 22 runs
  • Host Nation: Australia, New Zealand
  • Man of the Match: Wasim Akram
  • Man of the Series: Martin Crowe

World Cup 1996 Final

  • Winner: Sri Lanka
  • Runner Up: Australia
  • Final match result: 7 wickets
  • Host Nation: Pakistan, India, Sri Lanka
  • Man of the Match: Aravinda de Silva
  • Man of the Series: Sanath Jayasuriya

World Cup 1999 Final

  • Winner: Australia
  • Runner Up: Pakistan
  • Final match result: 8 wickets
  • Host Nation: England & Wales
  • Man of the Match: Shane Warne
  • Man of the Series: Lance Klusener

World Cup 2003 Final

  • Winner: Australia
  • Runner Up: India
  • Final match result: 125 runs
  • Host Nation: South Africa
  • Man of the Match: Ricky Ponting
  • Man of the Series: Sachin Tendulkar

World Cup 2007 Final

  • Winner: Australia
  • Runner Up: Sri Lanka
  • Final match result: 53 runs
  • Host Nation: West Indies
  • Man of the Match: Adam Gilchrist
  • Man of the Series: Glenn Mcgrath

World Cup 2011 Final

  • Winner: India
  • Runner Up: Sri Lanka
  • Final match result: 6 wickets
  • Host Nation: India, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh
  • Man of the Match: Mahendra Singh Dhoni
  • Man of the Series: Yuvraj Singh

World Cup 2015 Final

  •  Winner: Australia
  • Runner Up: New Zealand
  • Final match result: 7 wickets
  • Host Nation: Australia & New Zealand
  • Man of the Match: James Faulkner
  • Man of the Series: Mitchell Starc

World Cup 2019 Final

  • Winner: England 
  • Runner Up: New Zealand
  • Final match result: Match tied (England won Super Over on boundary count)
  • Host Nation: England and Wales
  • Man of the match: Ben Stokes
  • Man of the series: Kane Williamson


The Ultimate Guide to Yoga Clothes for Hot Yoga

Hot yoga, also known as Bikram yoga, is a...

Understanding the Gillette Stadium Bag Policy: What You Need to Know Before Attending an Event

When attending events at Gillette Stadium, it is crucial...

Yankee Stadium Bag Policy: What You Can and Can’t Bring to Games

Yankee Stadium's bag policy is intended to provide a...

Mastering the AT&T Stadium Bag Policy: A Fan’s Ultimate Guide

As an avid Dallas Cowboys fan, few things compare...



Must Check

Best Cooler for Kayaking: Keep Your Drinks and Snacks Cold on the Water

The Best Cooler for Kayaking is a crucial addition...

The Ultimate Guide: How to Transport a Kayak Safely and Hassle-Free

Transporting a kayak can feel overwhelming if you're unfamiliar...

Wetsuit for Kayaking: The Ultimate Guide to Master the Waves

When it comes to kayaking, one of the most...

Top 10 Fishing Kayaks of 2023: Unveiling the Best-Kept Secrets to Angling Success!

Welcome to Sportycious' ultimate guide on the best fishing...

Ultimate Kayaking Footwear: Discover the best Shoes for Paddling Perfection

Dive into the world of kayaking with confidence, as...

Don't miss

All You Want to Know about Wimbledon

Important Information about Wimbledon Official Name: The Championships, Wimbledon Founded in:...

It’s All about Hang Gliding

Hand Gliding is one of the most popular extreme...

Handled the Ball in Cricket, Rules & Dismissals

Many popular sports, its fans do understand the game...

Top Axe Throwing Clubs In Tampa

Actually, Axe Throwing is a lot similar to darts,...

Sidelights – ICC World T20 | Bangladesh Vs Afghanistan

The facts and figures about the first match of...
David Whisler, the maestro of editing at Sportycious, brings a touch of panache to the world of sports journalism. With an eagle eye for detail and a flair for enthralling storytelling, David ensures Sportycious remains the go-to destination for readers seeking an exhilarating and enlightening experience. When not juggling commas and semicolons, you'll find David enthusiastically supporting his favourite teams and indulging in his own sporting escapades.

The West Indies – Strength in diversity

The West Indies cricket team is a diverse mix of players representing 15 English-speaking countries and territories surrounded by the Caribbean Sea and the...

List of IPL Team Owners (2021)

Indian Premier League (IPL) is a yearly cricket tournament hosted in India every year. It has witnessed 13 seasons to date. There have been...

IPL Winners List: All Seasons Winners & Runners Up (2008 – 2020)

IPL (Indian Premier League) is the most sought after annual cricket tournament which is hosted in India between March to May. IPL is known...