Exclusive Content:

4 Benefits of Trampoline

People are conscious of their health. They want to...

All about Brasileiro – Brazil’s Premier Football League

Although the full name of the competition is ‘The...

Player Profile – Milos Raonic

This is the player profile of Milos Raonic the...

List of IPL Team Owners (2021)

Indian Premier League (IPL) is a yearly cricket tournament hosted in India every year. It has witnessed 13 seasons to date. There have been only two occasions during which IPL was organized outside India; one was in 2009, the second edition of IPL was shifted to South Africa because of the security concerns posed by general elections held in India. The second was in 2020, the thirteenth edition of the tournament was hosted in Dubai (UAE) due to COVID-19. 

IPL is said to contribute a large amount to the Indian economy. The noticeable reason for this fact is that many big Bollywood celebrities and Business Giant’s names have been associated with IPL and their presence is seen on stands during the tournament as they travel to cheer their teams.

List of IPL Team Owners (2021)

Who owns Indian Premier League (IPL)?

IPL is managed by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI). It is set up by IPL governing council to monitor the richest T20 tournament in the world. Brijesh Patel is the chairman of IPL, 8 teams play against each other in the IPL tournament and each team is owned by a different franchise.

List of IPL team owners:

The following table mentions the name of IPL team owners:

S.No.IPL TeamsOwnersResults
1.Chennai Super KingsN SrinivasanWinners (2010,2011,2018)
2.Delhi CapitalsGandhi Mallika ArjunRunners up (2020)
3.Kings XI PunjabKaran PalRunners up  (2014)
4.Mumbai IndiansNeeta AmbaniWinners (2013,2015,2017,2019,2020)
5.Kolkata Knight RidersShah Rukh KhanWinners (2012)
6.Sunrisers HyderabadKalanithi MaranWinners (2014)
7.Rajasthan RoyalsManoj and other investorsWinners (2008)
8.Royal Challengers BangloreMahendra Kumar SharmaRunners up (2016)

Overview of latest IPL Team Owners

Chennai Super Kings

List of IPL Team Owners (2021)

Three times IPL winners CSK is owned by former BCCI president N. Srinivasan’s India Cements. India Cements were the initial owners of CSK and later they became a separate entity, owned by the same person, named Chennai Super Kings Cricket Ltd.

Mumbai Indian

List of IPL Team Owners (2021)

The most successful team of IPL and 5 times winner, Mumbai Indians is owned by Neeta Ambani and Akash Ambani from Reliance group industries. They are an active part of the team even during the off-seasons.

Royal Challengers Banglore

List of IPL Team Owners (2021)

The team led by Indian skipper Virat Kohli is currently owned by Indian alcoholic beverage company United Spirits Limited. Because of a few unfortunate turn of events, the incredibly followed IPL team forced Kingfisher’s Vijay Mallya to drop ownership.

Sun Risers Hyderabad

List of IPL Team Owners (2021)

Kalanithi Maran of Sun Network owns the Hyderabad-based franchise since they have changed from Deccan Chargers to Sunrisers Hyderabad in 2013. The team has won one title as Deccan Chargers and then their second title after changing it to SRH. Kalanithi’s daughter Kaviya Maran seems to have taken over the operations of the team from 2020.

Rajasthan Royals

List of IPL Team Owners (2021)

RR has a total of six co-owners. They are Amisha Hathiramani from Tresco International Ltd, Manoj Badale from Emerging Media (IPL) Ltd, Lachlan Murdoch from Blue Water Estate Ltd, Raj Kundra and Shilpa Shetty from Kuki Investments Ltd, and Shane Warne from Spinners. The brand ambassador of the team is their title-winning captain and now a co-owner, Shane Warne. The face of the franchise is Bollywood actress Shilpa Shetty who has taken a bit of bashing after the scandalous two-year ban RR received for alleged match-fixing.

Kolkata Knight Riders

List of IPL Team Owners (2021)

Two times title winner KKR is owned by a Bollywood actor Shahrukh Khan (Red Chillies Entertainment) businessman Jay Mehta and Juhi Chawla (Mehta Group) combine with 55% and 45% shares respectively. Bollywood actor Shahrukh Khan is the face of the team but the management and auction operations are mostly taken care of by the duo from the Mehta Group. Actor Juhi Chawla is also seen supporting the team in various matches. 

Delhi Capitals

List of IPL Team Owners (2021)

GMR Group (Grandhi Mallikarjuna Rao) and the JSW Group (Jindal South West) are equal shareholders of Delhi Capitals. These are the infrastructure and steel company respectively. Parth Jindal, the director of JSW Sports is the director of the franchise and handles team operations including participation in the IPL auction.

Kings XI Punjab

List of IPL Team Owners (2021)

Kings XI Punjab has multiple owners. The co-owners are Bollywood actress Preity Zinta, Ness Wadia of Wadia group, Mohit Burman of Dabur India Ltd, The Oberoi Group, and Karan Paul of Apeejay Surrendra group. Preity Zinta is the face of the management group as she is present at every auction and is seen cheering the team from the stands.


Grass Tennis Courts: Exploring Surface, Tournaments, and Legendary Arenas

Grass tennis courts, with their rich history and unique...

Understanding the Differences: Blue Clay vs Red Clay Tennis Courts

Clay courts have been an integral part of tennis...

Clay Tennis Court vs Hard Tennis Court: A Comprehensive Comparison

Tennis is a popular sport that is played on...

Tennis Court vs Pickleball Court 🎾🏓 Unveiling the Differences for Your Perfect Match!

When you're at the crossroads of selecting the ideal...



Must Check

Best Cooler for Kayaking: Keep Your Drinks and Snacks Cold on the Water

The Best Cooler for Kayaking is a crucial addition...

The Ultimate Guide: How to Transport a Kayak Safely and Hassle-Free

Transporting a kayak can feel overwhelming if you're unfamiliar...

Wetsuit for Kayaking: The Ultimate Guide to Master the Waves

When it comes to kayaking, one of the most...

Top 10 Fishing Kayaks of 2023: Unveiling the Best-Kept Secrets to Angling Success!

Welcome to Sportycious' ultimate guide on the best fishing...

Ultimate Kayaking Footwear: Discover the best Shoes for Paddling Perfection

Dive into the world of kayaking with confidence, as...

Don't miss

West Indies Cricket Team

The West Indies Cricket team is a team of...

All you ever wanted to know about Rock Climbing

Rock climbing is an activity in which participants climb...

Laredo Lemurs Baseball

Baseball is one of the bat and ball games...

Luzhniki Stadium:

History and Description of Luzhniki Stadium Luzhniki Stadium as known...

The Complete Guide To Canicross and How It Can Be a Great Sport For Your Dog

Canicross is a trail that runs with the dog....
David Whisler, the maestro of editing at Sportycious, brings a touch of panache to the world of sports journalism. With an eagle eye for detail and a flair for enthralling storytelling, David ensures Sportycious remains the go-to destination for readers seeking an exhilarating and enlightening experience. When not juggling commas and semicolons, you'll find David enthusiastically supporting his favourite teams and indulging in his own sporting escapades.

The West Indies – Strength in diversity

The West Indies cricket team is a diverse mix of players representing 15 English-speaking countries and territories surrounded by the Caribbean Sea and the...

Cricket World Cup Winners & Runners up List (1975-2019)

The cricket world cup is an international championship of one day international cricket. This event is organised by the sports governing body which takes...

IPL Winners List: All Seasons Winners & Runners Up (2008 – 2020)

IPL (Indian Premier League) is the most sought after annual cricket tournament which is hosted in India between March to May. IPL is known...