Exclusive Content:

Unraveling Dynamo Central Stadium: The Heartbeat of Moscow’s Vibrant Sporting Culture

Nestled in the heart of Russia's capital city, Moscow,...

Maxwell Dumps CSK Again

Sidelights: KXIP is happy that as long as they are...

All About Borussia Park Stadium

The Borussia-Park (proper spelling: BORUSSIA PARK ) is the...

Everything you want to know about La Liga

Introduction about La Liga

The Premier Spanish Football League is called ‘La Liga’ by the English speaking fans of football. It is a professional football league for men’s football played in Spain and is affiliated with UEFA. The club was founded in 1929 and is one of the most popular sports leagues across the globe.

Basic Information

Official Name: Liga BBVA

Country: Spain

Everything you want to know about La Liga

Association with: UEFA

Founded in: 1929

Number of teams: 20

Levels on the pyramid: 1

Relegation to: Segunda Division

Domestic Cups: Copa del Rey and Supercopa de Espana

International Cups: UEFA Champions League and UEFA Europa League

Most number of championship wins: Real Madrid (32)

Current Champions: Barcelona (22nd)

Current Broadcasters: Canal+ 1, Canal+Liga, Gol Television, Cuatro, beIN Sports and TVE (for Highlights)

Official Sponsors: BBVA (Banco Bilbao Vizcaya Argentaria, S.A – A multinational Spanish Banking Group)

Brief History of La Liga

The Primera Division, Liga Nacional de Futbol Profesional (LFP) is officially called Liga BBVA (or BBVA League) because of the sponsorship reasons. La Liga is contested by the twenty different professional football clubs across Spain and three bottom teams on the table get relegated to the Segunda Division and they are replaced by top two teams from the Segunda Division itself along with the winner of a play-off. Since its incarnation, total 59 teams have taken part in La Liga and only nine of them have been crowned champions! Since the decade of 1950s Real Madrid and Barcelona has dominated the La Liga Championships. Since 1950s Real Madrid has won 32 La Liga titles and Barcelona has won 22.

When it comes to the European Clubs Championships, La Liga has made its own presence felt. It is the most popular professional leagues in the world as per the UEFA’s league coefficient by having an average attendance of 30, 275 for league matches in the year 2011-12. Not only this, but La Liga is also the third highest of any professional association football league in the world, just behind Germany’s Budesliga and English Premier League.

Current La Liga Teams (For the year 2013-14):

  • Real Madrid
  • FC Barcelona
  • Atletico Madrid
  • Athletic Club
  • Sevilla FC
  • Real Sociedad
  • Villarreal CF
  • Valencia CF
  • Levante UD
  • RCB Espanyol
  • Malaga CF
  • Royo Vallecano
  • Celta de Vigo
  • Elche CF
  • Granada CF
  • Osasuna
  • Real Valladolid
  • Getafe CF
  • UD Aleria
  • Real Betis


Soccer Players and Eyewear: On and Off The Field

Soccer is not a game one would usually associate...

Madison Square Garden Bag Policy: What You Need to Know

Madison Square Garden is one of the most popular...

ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024: Everything You Need to Know

The ICC Men's T20 World Cup is one of...

Game, Set, Dry Fast! The Rapid Rise of Fast Dry Clay Tennis Courts

What are Fast Dry Clay Courts? Fast dry clay tennis...



Must Check

Best Cooler for Kayaking: Keep Your Drinks and Snacks Cold on the Water

The Best Cooler for Kayaking is a crucial addition...

The Ultimate Guide: How to Transport a Kayak Safely and Hassle-Free

Transporting a kayak can feel overwhelming if you're unfamiliar...

Wetsuit for Kayaking: The Ultimate Guide to Master the Waves

When it comes to kayaking, one of the most...

Top 10 Fishing Kayaks of 2023: Unveiling the Best-Kept Secrets to Angling Success!

Welcome to Sportycious' ultimate guide on the best fishing...

Ultimate Kayaking Footwear: Discover the best Shoes for Paddling Perfection

Dive into the world of kayaking with confidence, as...

Don't miss

Important Rules about Freediving

Freediving as we all know is a recreational sport...

Do You Know What is Figure Skating?

The Brief Introduction to Figure Skating Theoretically meaning of the...

RR Blows Away RCB In Just 28 Overs

Sidelights: Royal Challengers Bangalore probably have not come out of...

Is Dhoni becoming the worst captain ever overseas?

After the pathetic display at Manchester if the Indian...

Axe throwing rules: All that you need to know about axe throwing

Axe throwing is an old sport which was first...
David Whisler, the maestro of editing at Sportycious, brings a touch of panache to the world of sports journalism. With an eagle eye for detail and a flair for enthralling storytelling, David ensures Sportycious remains the go-to destination for readers seeking an exhilarating and enlightening experience. When not juggling commas and semicolons, you'll find David enthusiastically supporting his favourite teams and indulging in his own sporting escapades.

Unraveling Dynamo Central Stadium: The Heartbeat of Moscow’s Vibrant Sporting Culture

Nestled in the heart of Russia's capital city, Moscow, Dynamo Central Stadium stands as an imposing testament to the country's rich sporting history. Established...

NSC Olimpiyskiy

The Olympic National Sports Complex (NSC Olimpiyskiy) located in Kyiv, Ukraine is a multi-use sports and recreation facility. This stadium is home to FC...

Discover the Thrilling World of McMahon Stadium: Your Ultimate Guide!

McMahon Stadium is one of the Canadian football stadiums situated in Calgary, Alberta. The stadium is owned by the University of Calgary and operated...