Exclusive Content:

All You Want to Know about Wimbledon

Important Information about Wimbledon Official Name: The Championships, Wimbledon Founded in:...

Know Everything about Cave Diving

In today’s article on Adventure Sports, you will know...

All about New Zealand Rugby Union League Team – Blues

The Blues, which was formerly known as the Auckland...

All about Major League Baseball

Brief Information about MLB

Sport: Baseball

Founded in: 1869

All about Major League Baseball

Number of teams participating: 30

Countries: United States of America – 29 teams, Canada – 1 team

Continent: North America

Current Commissioner: Bud Selig

Current Champions: Boston Red Sox (8th time winners)

Most Number of Titles Won: New York Yankees (27 times)

Official Television Partners: Fox/Fox Sports 1 , TBS, ESPN/ESPN2 and MLB Network

Official Website: mlb.com

Major League Baseball or MLB is a professional baseball organization which has four major professional sporting leagues in the Northern America. There are two major baseball leagues in America in which the MLB teams plays, they are American League (AL) and National League (NL). The two leagues were merged in the year 2000 by the Commissioner of Baseball. There are about 240 teams which are affiliated with the MLB as a Major League Clubs. The International Baseball Federation manages the World Baseball Classic Tournament.

Brief History of Major League Baseball

The first ever Baseball professional team was founded in Cincinnati in the year 1869. By the time the year 1920 arrived the players used to jump between one team to another or one league to another. After the great depression and two World Wars Baseball got its popularity back and during the decades of 1950s and 1960s American League (AL) and the National League (NL) were expanded and that made the game changed totally. More and more players were started hitting ‘home runs’ and that made the fans more excited towards the game.

MLB’s Structure of Administration

Since 1875 the Major League Baseball Constitution was changed several times and the most recent change was made in 2012. Right now under the direction of the Commissioner of Baseball the MLB has a duty to hire and maintain, labor, television rights, marketing and also appointing Umpires.

MLB in other Nations

MLB has been expanded in other nations too, like Nippon Professional Baseball in Japan where MLB All Stars play in an biennial end of the season tournament. Then there is also a MLB China Series. MLB also exists in Taiwan, South Korea. The Arizona Dimondbacks played against the Los Angeles Dodgers at the Sydney Cricket Ground in Australia on 22nd and 23rd March which was counted as a home game for the Dimondbacks.


Soccer Players and Eyewear: On and Off The Field

Soccer is not a game one would usually associate...

Madison Square Garden Bag Policy: What You Need to Know

Madison Square Garden is one of the most popular...

ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024: Everything You Need to Know

The ICC Men's T20 World Cup is one of...

Game, Set, Dry Fast! The Rapid Rise of Fast Dry Clay Tennis Courts

What are Fast Dry Clay Courts? Fast dry clay tennis...



Must Check

Best Cooler for Kayaking: Keep Your Drinks and Snacks Cold on the Water

The Best Cooler for Kayaking is a crucial addition...

The Ultimate Guide: How to Transport a Kayak Safely and Hassle-Free

Transporting a kayak can feel overwhelming if you're unfamiliar...

Wetsuit for Kayaking: The Ultimate Guide to Master the Waves

When it comes to kayaking, one of the most...

Top 10 Fishing Kayaks of 2023: Unveiling the Best-Kept Secrets to Angling Success!

Welcome to Sportycious' ultimate guide on the best fishing...

Ultimate Kayaking Footwear: Discover the best Shoes for Paddling Perfection

Dive into the world of kayaking with confidence, as...

Don't miss

5 Best Golf Ball Washer In 2021

As the name suggests, a golf washer, also known...

Unearthing the Essence of Clay Tennis Courts: Strategy, Construction, and Legendary Players

Clay courts have been part of the game of...

Newlands Cricket Ground – the Most Beautiful Cricket Ground

When it comes to the most beautiful cricket grounds...

Sculpt Your Body with Hot Yoga: The Ultimate Solution for Weight Loss

Hot yoga is a type of yoga that is...

All You Want to Know about UEFA Champions League

This is an article on world’s biggest club football...
David Whisler, the maestro of editing at Sportycious, brings a touch of panache to the world of sports journalism. With an eagle eye for detail and a flair for enthralling storytelling, David ensures Sportycious remains the go-to destination for readers seeking an exhilarating and enlightening experience. When not juggling commas and semicolons, you'll find David enthusiastically supporting his favourite teams and indulging in his own sporting escapades.

Most Valuable Sports Teams 2023: Unveiling the Titans of the Game

In the exhilarating world of sports, passion and prowess are celebrated on the playing field, yet another competition unfolds behind the scenes. This unseen...

Revolutionizing the Game: The Rise of Smart Basketball Technology

Smart basketball is a new and innovative concept that is making waves in the sports industry. This new technology involves the integration of sensors...

Facts About Gymnastics That Will Leave You Flipping for More!

  Gymnastics, a captivating and dynamic sport, has captured the hearts and minds of sports enthusiasts across the globe for centuries. With its origins in...