Exclusive Content:

Clay Tennis Court vs Hard Tennis Court: A Comprehensive Comparison

Tennis is a popular sport that is played on...

Baseball pants that you should think of buying

Baseball is a game that is played all over...

Know about Diving at the Olympics

Diving was introduced in the Olympics during the 1904...

Santosh Trophy: Major Football Competition in India

Santosh trophy is one of the major football competitions played in India. The competition is played under AIFF by the regional state associations and government institutions. The Santosh Trophy was considered the top domestic football tournament before the beginning of the I-League (National Football League) and Indian Super League. Many players playing international football have also played in the Santosh trophy. So, let us know in detail about the Santosh trophy.

History of Santosh trophy

The tournament was inaugurated in the year of 1941 and was named after the president of the Indian Football Association (IFA) Mr. Manmatha Nath Roy Chowdhary, the Maharaja of Santosh. Mr. Manmatha Nath Roy Chowdhury had a keen interest in the game and after his retirement from public services, he became the president of the Kolkata Football League and Indian Football Association and was elected to the same position for six consecutive years. IFA donated the Santosh trophy, Ex IFA vice president S. K. Gupta donated the runner-up trophy. Karnataka state football association donated the third-place trophy. At the time when the Santosh trophy started the other main championships were Durand Cup, Rovers Cup, and the IFA shield (West Bengal) football association.

To spread the love of football throughout the country, the Santosh trophy was organized as a U-23 tournament in 1990 so that a good football player gets trained and gets a fair chance in this competition at the state level and in other government bodies also. The Trophy encourages young players in the country to play football.

Santosh Trophy Winners List:

The tournament is held every year and it has 31 teams. All the teams are divided into respective groups and have to face tough competition in preliminary rounds in order to reach the qualifying matches. Here is the list of winners till now in Santosh trophy

Year HostWinnerScoreRunner up
1944-1945DelhiDelhi 2-0Bengal
1946-1947BangaloreMysore0-0(2-1)West Bengal
1964-1965GuwahatiRailways2-1West Bengal
1965-1966Kollam Andhra Pradesh1-1(1-0)West Bengal
1967-1968CuttackMysore1-0West Bengal
1968-1969BangaloreMysore0-0(1-0)West Bengal
1969-1970NowgongWest Bengal6-1Services
1971-1972MaldivesWest Bengal4-1Railways
1972-1973GoaWest Bengal4-1Tamil Nadu
1974-1975JalandharPunjab6-0West Bengal
1975-1976KozhikodeWest Bengal0-0(3-1)Karnataka
1976-1977PatnaWest Bengal1-0Maharashtra
1977-1978KolkataWest Bengal 1-1(3-1)Punjab
1978-1979SrinagarWest Bengal1-0Goa
1979-1980CoimbatoreWest Bengal1-0Punjab
1981-1982ThrissurWest Bengal2-0Railways
1982-1983KolkataWest Bengal and Goa won the trophy 0-0 draw
1985-1986JabalpurPunjab0-0(4-1)West Bengal
1986-1987KolkataWest Bengal2-1Railways
1988-1989GuwahatiWest Bengal1-1(4-3pen)Kerala
1993-1994CuttackWest Bengal2-2(5-3pen)Kerala
1994-1995ChennaiWest Bengal 2-1Punjab
1995-1996MargaoWest Bengal1-0Goa
1996-1997JabalpurWest Bengal1-0Goa
1997-1998GuwahatiWest Bengal5-1Goa
1998-1999ChennaiWest Bengal1-0Goa
2006-2007GurgaonPunjab0-0(5-3pen)West Bengal
2008-2009ChennaiGoa0-0(4-2pen)West Bengal
2009-2010KolkataWest Bengal2-1Punjab
2010-2011Assam West Bengal2-1Manipur
2011-2012OdishaServices3-2Tamil Nadu
2016-2017GoaWest Bengal1-0Goa
2017-2018KolkataKerala2-2(4-2pen)West Bengal

Current teams and their top players

The current teams participating in Santosh trophy are as follows

Andhra Pradesh, Arunachal Pradesh, Assam, Bihar, Chandigarh, Chattisgarh, Daman & Diu, Delhi, Goa, Gujarat, Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Jammu Kashmir, Jharkhand, Karnataka, Kerala, Lakshadweep, Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra, Manipur, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Odisha, Puducherry, Punjab, Rajasthan, Services,

Sikkim, Tamil Nadu, Telangana, Tripura, Uttar Pradesh, Uttarakhand, and West Bengal. Apart from one, all the others are the state teams that represent their particular states in the Santosh Trophy. The one different team is the services team, which represents the Indian armed forces in the Santosh trophy. Most of the teams are managed by their own state football associations, which are affiliated to AIFF.

The West Bengal team won the Santosh trophy title 32 times. The top goal scorer till now for the Santosh trophy is Inder Singh from Punjab with 45 goals. Another player N. Paisley from West Bengal scored 7 goals in a single match against Rajputana and thus scored the maximum number of goals in a single match.

So, this is all you want to know about the Santosh trophy. If you know of Something else, do let me know in the comment section.


Soccer Players and Eyewear: On and Off The Field

Soccer is not a game one would usually associate...

Madison Square Garden Bag Policy: What You Need to Know

Madison Square Garden is one of the most popular...

ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024: Everything You Need to Know

The ICC Men's T20 World Cup is one of...

Game, Set, Dry Fast! The Rapid Rise of Fast Dry Clay Tennis Courts

What are Fast Dry Clay Courts? Fast dry clay tennis...



Must Check

Best Cooler for Kayaking: Keep Your Drinks and Snacks Cold on the Water

The Best Cooler for Kayaking is a crucial addition...

The Ultimate Guide: How to Transport a Kayak Safely and Hassle-Free

Transporting a kayak can feel overwhelming if you're unfamiliar...

Wetsuit for Kayaking: The Ultimate Guide to Master the Waves

When it comes to kayaking, one of the most...

Top 10 Fishing Kayaks of 2023: Unveiling the Best-Kept Secrets to Angling Success!

Welcome to Sportycious' ultimate guide on the best fishing...

Ultimate Kayaking Footwear: Discover the best Shoes for Paddling Perfection

Dive into the world of kayaking with confidence, as...

Don't miss

The Moto Adventure Sport – Motocross

One of the branches of adventure sports is usage...

The Football World Mourns The Death Of Tito Vilanova

The world of football is mourning the death of...

All You Want to Know About USA Rugby

Rugby in USA is as old as probably the...

All about Cruzeiro Esporte Clube the Top Brazilian Football Club

Cruzeiro Esporte Clube is the current champions of the...

All You Need to Know About The Cosmos Arena Football Stadium

History Cosmos Arena Stadium Cosmos Arena is a football stadium...
Ava Brown
Ava Brown is a dedicated sports writer who skillfully captures the excitement and passion of the athletic world. Her insightful articles for Sportycious provide readers with a unique perspective on various sports disciplines. When she isn't crafting captivating content, Ava enjoys cheering on her favourite teams and actively participating in sports herself.

Unraveling Dynamo Central Stadium: The Heartbeat of Moscow’s Vibrant Sporting Culture

Nestled in the heart of Russia's capital city, Moscow, Dynamo Central Stadium stands as an imposing testament to the country's rich sporting history. Established...

NSC Olimpiyskiy

The Olympic National Sports Complex (NSC Olimpiyskiy) located in Kyiv, Ukraine is a multi-use sports and recreation facility. This stadium is home to FC...

Discover the Thrilling World of McMahon Stadium: Your Ultimate Guide!

McMahon Stadium is one of the Canadian football stadiums situated in Calgary, Alberta. The stadium is owned by the University of Calgary and operated...