Exclusive Content:

Unleash Your Inner Adventurer: The Ultimate Guide to Kayaking!

"The Complete Kayaking Guide" is a comprehensive resource for...

The Freestyle Scooter Parts

After getting knowledge about Freestyle Scootering and the surfaces...

All about Formula One Qualifying System

Formula One Racing is one of the most popular...

Six Nations Rugby Tournament Explained

The Six Nations Rugby Tournament explained here and what all you should know is mentioned here. Just take a look.

Six Nations Rugby Tournament Explained

Six Nations Rugby Tournament Explained

Brief Information

Sport: Rugby Union

Started in: 1883

Previous Names: the Home Nations Championship or Five Nations Championship

Current Name: Six Nations Championship

Number of Teams: 6 – England, Ireland, Wales, Scotland, France and Italy.

Current Champions: Ireland

Most number of Championships won by: England – 26 times.

Official Website: rbs6nations.com

History of Six Nations Tournament

The Six Nations Championship is an annual international Rugby Union tournament which involves six top European nations like England, Ireland, Wales, Scotland, France and Italy. The tournament has been sponsored by the Royal Bank of Scotland and thus it is called RBS Six Nations. This is also one of the oldest rugby union tournaments which were founded in 1883 and at that moment of time it used to be called as the Home Nations Championships. Later it used to be called the Five Nations Tournament. In the year 2000 Italy was also included and thus it became the Six Nations Championship. England has the honor of winning most number of titles which is 26. The current champions are Ireland who defeated France in the 2013 finals. Since the inclusion of the sixth team in 2000, Scotland and Italy have never won this championship.

Format of the Six Nations Rugby

It is simple and understandable format on which the Six Nations Rugby is played. Winner of the each game will get 2 points, 1 for a draw and nothing for a loss. Each team plays with each other once. Winner of all the matches in the tournament is awarded the title of ‘Grand slam title’. England has won most of the grand slam titles which is 6. The bottom listed team gets the ‘wooden spoon’ award, although there is no such trophy is given. Italy has been awarded the wooden spoon award for the most number of times.

Six Nations Trophy

Six Nations Rugby Tournament ExplainedAll the six participating teams play for the Six Nations Championship Trophy, which was originally conceived by the Earl of Westmorland. It is s sterling silver trophy which was designed by the James Brent-Ward and was made by a team of eight silversmiths from William Comyns, London. This trophy although was presented for the first time to France after they won the 1993 Championship.


Soccer Players and Eyewear: On and Off The Field

Soccer is not a game one would usually associate...

Madison Square Garden Bag Policy: What You Need to Know

Madison Square Garden is one of the most popular...

ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024: Everything You Need to Know

The ICC Men's T20 World Cup is one of...

Game, Set, Dry Fast! The Rapid Rise of Fast Dry Clay Tennis Courts

What are Fast Dry Clay Courts? Fast dry clay tennis...



Must Check

Best Cooler for Kayaking: Keep Your Drinks and Snacks Cold on the Water

The Best Cooler for Kayaking is a crucial addition...

The Ultimate Guide: How to Transport a Kayak Safely and Hassle-Free

Transporting a kayak can feel overwhelming if you're unfamiliar...

Wetsuit for Kayaking: The Ultimate Guide to Master the Waves

When it comes to kayaking, one of the most...

Top 10 Fishing Kayaks of 2023: Unveiling the Best-Kept Secrets to Angling Success!

Welcome to Sportycious' ultimate guide on the best fishing...

Ultimate Kayaking Footwear: Discover the best Shoes for Paddling Perfection

Dive into the world of kayaking with confidence, as...

Don't miss

Various Types of Golf Club Grips

  In any sport in which a prop plays a...

Best Axe Throwing Clubs In Denver

In early days, axe throwing was not not a...

All You Want to Know About Solheim Cup

We all are aware about the Ryder Cup right?...

Here are the Top Goal Scorers in World Cups

These are the players who are topping the list...

Unveiling Stan Wawrinka: A Journey of Power, Triumph, and Rivalries

In the realm of professional tennis, few names resonate...
David Whisler, the maestro of editing at Sportycious, brings a touch of panache to the world of sports journalism. With an eagle eye for detail and a flair for enthralling storytelling, David ensures Sportycious remains the go-to destination for readers seeking an exhilarating and enlightening experience. When not juggling commas and semicolons, you'll find David enthusiastically supporting his favourite teams and indulging in his own sporting escapades.

Rugby Mad: Which Countries Love the Game Most?

As a sport that delivers fast-paced matches complete with thrilling tackles and diving tries, it’s easy to see why rugby is loved by so...

From the Pitch to the Podium: Exploring the Most Exciting Rugby Facts

As a true rugby fan, we know that this game is not just a sport, it's a way of life. From the adrenaline-fueled tackles...

The Highest Paid Rugby Players of the World

It is a myth that since the game of Rugby is not that popular around the world, its players do not earn that big...