Exclusive Content:

Player Profile – Sebastian Vettel

This is the player profile of the German Formula...

All You Want to Know about Wimbledon

Important Information about Wimbledon Official Name: The Championships, Wimbledon Founded in:...

Subimal Chuni Goswami: Captain of the 1962 Asian Games

Subimal Chuni Goswami is mostly known by his nickname...

The Top 5 Leg Spinners of the World

To spin a cricket ball is not every one’s job and leg spinning is one of the most difficult arts of the world. But yet there are few leg spinners in the world who have mastered this art and today we are going to talk about the top 5 leg spinners of the world.

The Top 5 Leg Spinners of the World

These 5 leg spin maestros may have come from the different era, but they certainly have made the leg spinning more attractive than ever before. As we have said above, leg spinning is an art and it is not everyone’s cup of tea or even coffee for that matter. So let us know about those great artists who have made the art of leg spinning more popular.

5. B.S. Chandrasekhar


One would be highly amused to know that B.S. Chandrasekhar was hit by polio when he was a kid, but he turned this disability to ability and took 242 wickets from just 58 tests he played with an impressive average of 29.74. He was probably the first bowler before Anil Kumble, who was relying more on accuracy than on spin. He played his cricket when India was yet to be recon as a force in world cricket, but his performances against England in 1971 and then against Australia in 1978 helped India win  their first ever test wins in these two countries.

4. Richie Benaud

Richie Benaud

The man who started it all, yes for the new generation Richie Benaud is probably the most popular face on the television, but he is the man who first made the leg spin popular across the glob. Despite having a bad start in his test career which lasted for almost 5 years Benaud was responsible for an unlikely win against England at Manchester in 1961 with the figures of 6/70 and from then on he became one of the legends of cricket. Richie Benaud has taken 248 wickets from 63 tests with an impressive average of 27.03.

3. Abdul Qadir

Abdul Qadir - Prudential Cricket World Cup

The ‘leggie’ with one of the most unusual bowling action one could ever see or even imagine, but Abdul Qadir was sure a legend of International Cricket. Qadir was perhaps the best exponent of googly probably after Shane Warne and that made his bowling more lethal than any other bowlers during that point of time. Abdul Qadir has 236 wickets from 67 tests he played with the best bowling figures for Pakistan till date of 9/56 against England, which he took in 1987.

2. Anil Kumble

Anil Kumble

One would definitely doubt whether Anil Kumble can really be called a leg spinner or not? But he certainly was as he was more depending on accuracy rather than on spinning the ball from leg to off stumps! The way Anil Kumble used to get the bounce on slow-low Indian and other subcontinent pitches was exceptional. Taking 619 wickets from just 132 tests is no joke. Anil Kumble has his name in the history for being the only second bowler after Jim Laker who has taken all 10 wickets in an innings of a test match. Anil Kumble achieved this feat against Pakistan in 1999 at Delhi’s Firozshah Kotla Ground.

1. Shane Warne

Shane Warne

The undoubted ‘King of Leg spinners’, Shane Warne is responsible to revive the leg spin when it was in the ICU during the early 1990s. His debut against India at the Sydney Cricket Ground was a forgettable affair as he took 1/150 in that test match, but then a match winning spell of 7/52 against the West Indies at the Melbourne Cricket Ground which was his 5th Test in all he announced himself. With a career spreading over 15 years 145 tests and 708 wickets Shane Warne rules the pack of leg spinners.


Soccer Players and Eyewear: On and Off The Field

Soccer is not a game one would usually associate...

Madison Square Garden Bag Policy: What You Need to Know

Madison Square Garden is one of the most popular...

ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024: Everything You Need to Know

The ICC Men's T20 World Cup is one of...

Game, Set, Dry Fast! The Rapid Rise of Fast Dry Clay Tennis Courts

What are Fast Dry Clay Courts? Fast dry clay tennis...



Must Check

Best Cooler for Kayaking: Keep Your Drinks and Snacks Cold on the Water

The Best Cooler for Kayaking is a crucial addition...

The Ultimate Guide: How to Transport a Kayak Safely and Hassle-Free

Transporting a kayak can feel overwhelming if you're unfamiliar...

Wetsuit for Kayaking: The Ultimate Guide to Master the Waves

When it comes to kayaking, one of the most...

Top 10 Fishing Kayaks of 2023: Unveiling the Best-Kept Secrets to Angling Success!

Welcome to Sportycious' ultimate guide on the best fishing...

Ultimate Kayaking Footwear: Discover the best Shoes for Paddling Perfection

Dive into the world of kayaking with confidence, as...

Don't miss

All Blacks – The New Zealand Rugby Union Team

Brief Information Union: New Zealand Rugby Union Nicknames: All Blacks or...

Player Profile – Dan Carter

Basic Info Full Name: Daniel William Carter Date of Birth: 5th...

WWE Rumors: Reason of Bringing Forward the Return of Kevin Owens’ to Raw

Rumored Return Kevin Owens is anticipated to make his come...

All You Want to Know About FreeSkiing

Of course, Freeskiing is an adventure sport and we...

IPL Team – Kolkata Knight Riders 2019

Basic Info: Kolkata Knight Riders 2019 Team Name: Kolkata Knight...
David Whisler, the maestro of editing at Sportycious, brings a touch of panache to the world of sports journalism. With an eagle eye for detail and a flair for enthralling storytelling, David ensures Sportycious remains the go-to destination for readers seeking an exhilarating and enlightening experience. When not juggling commas and semicolons, you'll find David enthusiastically supporting his favourite teams and indulging in his own sporting escapades.

ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024: Everything You Need to Know

The ICC Men's T20 World Cup is one of the most anticipated cricket tournaments in the world. It is a biennial Twenty20 International (T20I)...

The West Indies – Strength in diversity

The West Indies cricket team is a diverse mix of players representing 15 English-speaking countries and territories surrounded by the Caribbean Sea and the...

List of IPL Team Owners (2021)

Indian Premier League (IPL) is a yearly cricket tournament hosted in India every year. It has witnessed 13 seasons to date. There have been...