Monday, February 6, 2023

IPL Team – Mumbai Indians 2019

- Advertisement -

Basic Info: Mumbai Indians 2019

Team Name: Mumbai Indians (MI)

Founded in: 2008

Home City: Mumbai, MaharashtraIPL Team – Mumbai Indians 2019

Home Ground(s): Wankhede Stadium (Capacity: 35, 341), D. Y. Patil Stadium (Capacity: 55, 398), Brabourne Stadium (Capacity: 30, 000)

Owner(s): IndiaWin Sports Pvt Ltd with 98.3% stake and Teesta Retail Pvt Ltd with 1.7% stake.

IPL Champions: 2013, 2015, 2017

Champions League T20 Champions: 2011, 2013

Official Website:

Slogan: Duniya Hila Denge Hum

Brief History

One of the first eight IPL teams which was auctioned first during the first ever IPL team auctions in 2008. The Mumbai Indians franchise was the most expensive franchise of the IPL when it was sold. India’s top most business house the Reliance Industries Limited (RIL) bought the Mumbai franchise of IPL for US $ 111.9 million. The franchise is owned by Mukesh Ambani. Later a special body was established naming IndiaWin Sports Pvt Ltd by Reliance and the entire management of MI was given to it. Sachin Tendulkar was given the ‘Icon’ status and captained Mumbai Indians for four consecutive seasons later he handed over the captaincy to Harbhajan Singh and last season it was Rohit Sharma who captained the side which won the IPL. Lalchand Rajput was the first coach of Mumbai Indians and currently the former Indian coach and New Zealand captain, John Wright is responsible for the team’s coaching.


The start was not good for MI in the IPL as the team was marred with the controversy fast. After a league game against Kings XI Punjab at Mohali, Harbhajan Singh slapped KXIP player Sreesanth and he was removed as a stand in captain for MI. MI lost 7 games out of 14 and finished 5th on the list. 2009 was even worse for MI as they were very poor in the South African conditions and finished on the 7th place. 2010 brought new hope for Mumbai Indians as they bought Kieron Pollard from the auction and they reached the playoffs for the first time and lost to Chennai Super Kings in the finals by 22 runs. In 2011 once again MI reached the playoffs but lost to Royal Challengers Bangalore in the Semifinals by 43 runs. In 2012 MI did well again to reach the Playoffs and lost to Chennai Super Kings again by 38 runs in the first Eliminator. But in 2013 they went all the way and won their first IPL title by beating Chennai Super Kings by 23 runs at Kolkata’s Eden Gardens. Their next championship victory too was against Chennai Super Kings where they won by 41 runs. In 2017, Mumbai Indians was once again crowned as champions where they defeated Rising Pune Supergiants by just 1 run.

Mumbai Indian (MI) Squad for IPL 12 (2019)

Players Retained:
Rohit Sharma (C), Hardik Pandya, Krunal Pandya, Jasprit Bumrah, Ishan Kishan, Aditya Tare, Suryakumar Yadav, Rahul Chahar, Anukul Roy, Siddhesh Lad, Quinton de Kock, Mitchell McClenaghan, Evin Lewis, Kieron Pollard, Ben Cutting, Adam Milne, Mayank Markande, Jason Behrendorff

Players Released:
Saurabh Tiwary, Pradeep Sangwan, Akila Dananjaya, Mohsin Khan, Sharad Lumba, MD Nidheesh, Tajinder Singh Dhillon, Pat Cummins, JP Duminy, Mustafizur Rahman

Players Traded:
Quinton de Kock from RCB

Players Bought:
Lasith Malinga, Anmolpreet Singh, Barinder Sran, Pankaj Jaiswal, Rasikh Salam, and Yuvraj Singh

- Advertisement -
Check this out
- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -