Thursday, February 2, 2023

All You Want to Know About ICC Cricket World Cup

- Advertisement -

Brief Information about ICC Cricket World Cup

Administered by: International Cricket Council (ICC)

Format: 50 overs a side – One Day InternationalAll You Want to Know About ICC Cricket World Cup

First Tournament: 1975 (Hosts: England)

Last Tournament: 2011 (Hosts: India, Sri Lanka and Bangladesh)

Next Tournament: 2015 (Hosts: Australia and New Zealand)

Number of Participating Teams: 14 (Current), 19 (Over all)

Current Champions: India (2nd Title)

Most Number of Titles: Australia (4 times)

Highest Run Scorer: Sachin Tendulkar (India) – 2, 278 runs

Highest Wicket Taker: Glenn McGrath (Australia) – 72 wickets

Brief History of ICC Cricket World Cup

The ICC Cricket World Cup has come a long way and it has been the premier and most awaited tournament among the cricket lovers. The format of One Day games was first played during the 1960s in England in the county cricket. It was a time when nobody could ever think that a cricket game can have a result in one day since it was an age of the Test Cricket. In 1962 the English County Cricket had first ever four team knockout competition and next year they had the inaugural Gillette Cup. Gradually the one day cricket gained popularity in England and in 1969 the National Sunday League was formed. Although the first ever One Day International was played between Canada and USA in the year 1844, but when a test match in 1971 was washed out between England and Australia to fill the time an eight ball over one day match was played and it became the first milestone for one day cricket’s existence. The ever so growing popularity of One Day Cricket forced ICC to organize a World Cup competition for major cricket playing nations.

Important Details about all the Cricket World Cups

Prudential World Cups , England (1975-1983)

The first ever Cricket World Cup was organized in England in the year 1975 the name of this World Cup was after its sponsors Prudential plc. There were three Prudential World Cups organized in the year 1975, 1979 and 1983. The first two World Cups were won by the West Indies and in 1983 India upset the mighty West Indians in the finals under the leadership of Kapil Dev to lift their first ever World Cup. All three World Cups were 60 overs a side affair.

The Reliance World Cup, India & Pakistan (1987)

The first ever World Cup, which was played as a 50 overs a side tournament. The defending champions India were firm favorites, but they lost to England in the semi-finals in Mumbai with English captain Graham Gooch and Mike Getting just used the sweep shot to combat Indian spinners. In the final which was played at the historic Eden Gardens in Kolkata Australia with 100% crowd support beat England to become the champions, first time in their history.

Benson & Hedges World Cup, Australia & New Zealand (1992)

Again the format of the World Cup was changed and from pool system, it was changed to the round robin format where each team played against each other ones. Australia, the host nation, once again was favorite to win but lost to New Zealand’s tactics of bringing the spinner Dipak Patel in the first 15 overs in the first match it self. New Zealand got the momentum, but somehow lost to Pakistan in the semis who were almost on the brink. Pakistan, then beat England in the final and their captain Imran Khan lift the cup.

The Wills World Cup India, Pakistan & Sri Lanka (1996)

World Cup returned to the subcontinent and this time the island nation Sri Lanka too became the co-host. Sri Lanka was unstoppable throughout the tournament because of their hammering openers Sanath Jayasuriya and Romesh Kaluwithrana just changed the script of One Day International. After beating India in the semi final in a crowd troubled match at Kolkata Sri Lankans defeated Australia in the finals played at Lahore’s Gaddafi Stadium.

ICC World Cup 1999, England and Scotland

The first time ever ICC got the full control over the economics of the World Cup and the gave its name for the trophy forever. Now there are sponsors for the event, but they never have their names on the Cup. This world cup started the Australian domination over it who defeated Pakistan in the finals easily after overcoming a nail biting and tensed semifinal against South Africa.

ICC World Cup 2003, South Africa, Kenya and Zimbabwe

First time the African nations hosted the cricket world cup and South Africa and Australia were firm favorites, but South Africa lost the way and Australia kept its juggernaut rolling. The surprise package of the world cup was the associate nation Kenya who stunned full time members like Sri Lanka, West Indies and Zimbabwe to reach the semi finals of the World Cup. India started miserably to the world cup, but then won all of their matches to reach the final where Australia just dumped them.

ICC World Cup 2007, West Indies

The first time six different countries came under one roof and hosted the world cup but it became one of the most poorly attended world cup ever. This world cup also witnessed the murder of the then Pakistani coach and South African Bob Woolmer. But nothing could stop the Aussies as they won the final convincingly amid bit of controversy against Sri Lanka.

ICC World Cup 2011 India, Sri Lanka & Bangladesh

This world cup witnessed the end of the domination of Australia on world cricket when they lost to India in the quarter finals at Ahmedabad. India and Sri Lanka were firm favorites to lift the cup and both battled for it in the final which was played at Mumbai’s famous Wankhede Stadium. India’s captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni’s impressive tactics and his batting and of course his famous last ball six  helped India to lift their second world cup after the long wait of  28 years!

- Advertisement -
Check this out
- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -


  1. The first time ever ICC got the full control over the economics of the World Cup and the gave its name for the trophy forever. Now there are sponsors for the event, but they never have their names on the Cup

Comments are closed.