Exclusive Content:

All Information About Olympic Stadium Munich

The Olympiastadion Munich is a multifunctional stadium in the...

Top 5 Famous Cricket WAGs

Today we are going to have some knowledge about...

All You Want to Know About Solheim Cup

We all are aware about the Ryder Cup right?...

All you want to know about Rugby Sevens

All you want to know about Rugby Sevens‘Rugby Sevens’ is a ‘seven a side variant of Rugby Union in which two teams can field only 7 players and not the usual 15. The game is also administered by the IRB (International Rugby Board). The game was originated in Melrose in Scotland in 1983 by Ned Haig and David Sanderson. The Melrose Sevens tournament is still played at Melrose every year. The international sevens normally played during the summer. The game is most popular in the South Pacific but plays with equal enthusiasm in Asia, Africa, Europe and in the Americas. The IRB Sevens World Series is one of the most popular Rugby tournaments.

Plying area

Rugby sevens is being played on a standard Rugby field as per the International Rugby Board’s rules with H-shaped goal posts.

Team formations

All you want to know about Rugby Sevens


1 – Prop, 2 – Prop, 4 – Hooker


3- Scrum Half, 5- Fly-half, 6- Centre, 7- Winger/fullback

5 Substitutes allowed

Laws and rules of the Rugby Sevens

  • Seven players a side (instead of 15)
  • Five substitutes and five interchanges (Not 7 and 7)
  • Seven minute halves can be increased to 10 minute halves in a final of a competition
  • One minute half time, can be increased to two minutes in finals
  • Drawn games to be continued into extra time, which can be multiplied by 5 minute periods
  • No place-kick allowed during conversions and only drop kicks are allowed.
  • Conversions must be taken within 40 seconds of a try (Instead of 60 seconds)
  • Three player scrums (Instead of eight players scrums)
  • Kick-offs are allowed in sevens for the team, which has scored by a kick off and not the conceding team in a normal Rugby match.
  • Yellow cards bring 2 minute suspension (Instead of 10 minutes)
  • It is up to the referee to decide on the advantage as quickly as possible
  • There are more judges on the ground to check the in goal touch and to check the success of kicks at the goals and hence the game loses less time.

 Major Rugby Sevens Tournaments

  • IRB Sevens World Series
  • Rugby World Cup Sevens
  • Summer Olympics
  • FIRA-AER European Sevens
  • Women’s Rugby Sevens


Soccer Players and Eyewear: On and Off The Field

Soccer is not a game one would usually associate...

Madison Square Garden Bag Policy: What You Need to Know

Madison Square Garden is one of the most popular...

ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024: Everything You Need to Know

The ICC Men's T20 World Cup is one of...

Game, Set, Dry Fast! The Rapid Rise of Fast Dry Clay Tennis Courts

What are Fast Dry Clay Courts? Fast dry clay tennis...



Must Check

Best Cooler for Kayaking: Keep Your Drinks and Snacks Cold on the Water

The Best Cooler for Kayaking is a crucial addition...

The Ultimate Guide: How to Transport a Kayak Safely and Hassle-Free

Transporting a kayak can feel overwhelming if you're unfamiliar...

Wetsuit for Kayaking: The Ultimate Guide to Master the Waves

When it comes to kayaking, one of the most...

Top 10 Fishing Kayaks of 2023: Unveiling the Best-Kept Secrets to Angling Success!

Welcome to Sportycious' ultimate guide on the best fishing...

Ultimate Kayaking Footwear: Discover the best Shoes for Paddling Perfection

Dive into the world of kayaking with confidence, as...

Don't miss

Player Profile – Roger Federer

This post provides all the details about one of...

All About All India Football Federation (AIFF)

All India Football federation or AIFF is the governing...

NorthEast United FC – Stronger As One

Indian Super League is gaining popularity and making its...

Player Profile – Jerome Kaino

This is the player profile of All Blacks and...

Top 5 US Players in Ryder Cup Ever

When you are talking about Ryder Cup, which has...
David Whisler, the maestro of editing at Sportycious, brings a touch of panache to the world of sports journalism. With an eagle eye for detail and a flair for enthralling storytelling, David ensures Sportycious remains the go-to destination for readers seeking an exhilarating and enlightening experience. When not juggling commas and semicolons, you'll find David enthusiastically supporting his favourite teams and indulging in his own sporting escapades.

Rugby Mad: Which Countries Love the Game Most?

As a sport that delivers fast-paced matches complete with thrilling tackles and diving tries, it’s easy to see why rugby is loved by so...

From the Pitch to the Podium: Exploring the Most Exciting Rugby Facts

As a true rugby fan, we know that this game is not just a sport, it's a way of life. From the adrenaline-fueled tackles...

The Highest Paid Rugby Players of the World

It is a myth that since the game of Rugby is not that popular around the world, its players do not earn that big...