Tuesday, March 28, 2023

All About Serie A – Italy’s Premier Football League

- Advertisement -

Just like any European country, Italy too is a football crazy nation. Know about one of the major reasons that why the people of Italy are so crazy about football in this article regarding Italy’s Premier Football League – Serie A

All About Serie A – Italy’s Premier Football League

In this article we will have the basic knowledge about Serie A, like what is its structure, its history and about its major players as well. So get ready to know about Serie A

What is Serie A

All About Serie A – Italy’s Premier Football LeagueSerie A is as we have mentioned a premier football league in Italy, which was officially launched in 1898 and in 1929 Serie A adopted the round robin format. Just like other premier football leagues of Europe Serie A too is affiliated with the UEFA when it comes to participating in the Champions League Football and UEFA Europa League. Serie A is a combination of 20 top football teams in Italy and teams who do not perform well and stay at the bottom of the table at the end of each season are relegated to Serie B. Serie A is also attached to two of the domestic competitions like Coppa Italia and Supercoppa Italiana. Juventus club is the current champions of the Serie A. Their win in 2013-14 Serie A was their 30th title over all which is also the most by any team in the Serie A. Sky Italia and Mediaset Premium are the two TV channels which hold the rights to telecast Serie A across Italy. For more details about Serie A you can also visit their official website, legaseriea.it

History of Serie A

Serie A as we know it by that name today was started in 1929 but there was a football league in Italy prior to that as well. There was a competition organized by local groups since 1898 which was continued till 1922. There was a split in the Italian Football Confederation in 1921 and two groups, namely FIGC and CCI were formed. Then again in 1926 CCI joined the FIGC and the entire setup was changed. There were few teams also added in the league. In a sad incident when the entire team of Torino was killed in a  plan crash, Torino was declared champions in 1948-49 season.

Teams Play for Serie A in the 2014 -15 Season

  • Atlanta
  • Cagliari
  • Cesena
  • Chievo
  • Empoli
  • Fiorentina
  • Genoa
  • Internazionale
  • Junventus
  • Lazio
  • Milan
  • Napoli
  • Palermo
  • Parma
  • Roma
  • Samdoria
  • Sassuolo
  • Torino
  • Udinese
  • Verona
- Advertisement -
David Whisler, the maestro of editing at Sportycious, brings a touch of panache to the world of sports journalism. With an eagle eye for detail and a flair for enthralling storytelling, David ensures Sportycious remains the go-to destination for readers seeking an exhilarating and enlightening experience. When not juggling commas and semicolons, you'll find David enthusiastically supporting his favourite teams and indulging in his own sporting escapades.
Check this out
- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -