Thursday, February 2, 2023

IPL Team – Delhi Daredevils 2019

- Advertisement -

Basic Info: Delhi Daredevils 2019

Team Name: Delhi Daredevils (DD)

Founded in: 2008

Home City: Delhi

IPL Team – Delhi Daredevils 2019

Home Ground(s): Feroz Shah Kotla

Capacity: 31,340

Owner: The GMR Group, The JSW Group

Titles Won: None

Official Website:

Slogan: Khel Front Foot Pe

Brief History

One of India’s biggest reality institution, the GMR Group purchased the Delhi franchise of the IPL during the first ever IPL team auctions for US$ 84 million. The historical Feroz Shah Kotla ground became the home ground of Delhi Daredevils and later in the mission to take the IPL to the furthermost corners of India Raipur’s Raipur International Cricket Stadium became it’s second home.


During the first season of 2008 with the then Indian opening pair of Virender Sehwag, who was captain of DD, and Gautam Gambhir at the helm, it was expected that DD will go long into the tournament, and that exactly what happened, despite losing their last five matches out of nine DD managed to reach the semis where they lost to Rajasthan Royals by 105 runs.

In 2009, DD changed their captain and Gautam Gambhir was made the captain. The team repeated its performance of the previous year and reached the semis with the help of superb performances by Gautam Gambhir, AB de Villiers and Tillakratne Dilshan but again lost to Deccan Chargers in the semis.

The third IPL season of 2010 was the first time when DD was not in the semis. They had a mixed travel in the IPL by winning and loosing seven matches each and hence they had no chance to qualify for the playoffs.

The 2011 brought the poorest performance of DD when they could win only four matches during the entire IPL season and lost a few matches which they could have easily won.

Change of guard in 2012 after last season’s worst performance. Mahela Jayawardene was made the captain of DD and with power packed performances by the captain himself along with Kevin Pietersen and Ross Taylor DD won 11 matches and lost only 4 and topped the table but still could not win the title as they lost the momentum in the qualifiers.

2013 was probably the replica of DD’s performance of 2011 when they lost their first six matches on the trot and there was no chance they could win a match. During the entire season DD could win only 3 matches out of 16 matches they played.

Delhi Daredevils (DD) Squad for IPL 12 (2019)

Players Retained:
Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant, Prithvi Shaw, Amit Mishra, Avesh Khan, Harshal Patel, Rahul Tewatia, Jayant Yadav, Manjot Kalra, Colin Munro, Chris Morris, Kagiso Rabada, Sandeep Lamichhane, Trent Boult

Players Traded:
Shikhar Dhawan from Sunrisers Hyderabad for Abhishek Sharma, Vijay Shankar, Shahbaz Nadeem

Players Bought:
Hanuma Vihari, Axar Patel, Ishant Sharma, Ankush Bains, Nathu Singh, Colin Ingram, Sherfane Rutherford, Keemo Paul, Jalaj Saxena, and Bandaru Ayyappa

- Advertisement -
Check this out
- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -