Exclusive Content:

A Beginners’s Guide to the Basics of Rugby Union Positions

In the game of rugby union which is a...

Sidelights – ICC World T20 | Netherlands Vs United Arab Emirates

Sylhut stadium has a history of producing high scoring...

Know about Diving at the Olympics

Diving was introduced in the Olympics during the 1904 games at St. Louis and since then it has been a regular feature in all the Olympics. Let us know about Diving at the Olympics as a sport in detail.

Know about Diving at the Olympics

The sport of Diving is being regulated by FINA along with the International Federation for Aquatic Sports and it has total 8 events in the Olympics, 4 for men and 4 for women. Diving is also known as ‘fancy diving’ in the Olympics because it has some of the acrobatic skills which have to be performed by the divers.

When Diving was introduced to the Olympics it was having only two events like ‘platform diving’ and ‘a plunge for distance’. In ‘a plunge for distance’ the diver who has reached the farthest inside the water while remaining motionless after making a ground level standing dive used to be declared a winner. But in 1908 men’s spring board diving was added and plunge for the distance was removed. Women made their first presence in the diving in the 1912 Olympics. Till the 1920 Olympics in Antwerp only jump was allowed in the diving and in the 1924 Olympics in Paris a highboard diving was introduced. During the Sydney Olympics in the year 2000, the events were raised to 8 and since then there are total 8 events in diving.

The 8 Events in Diving at the Olympics

  1. Men’s 3 meter springboard – 24 games
  2. Men’s 10 meter springboard – 25 games
  3. Men’s synchronized 3 meter springboard – 4 games
  4. Men’s synchronized 10 meter platform – 4 games
  5. Women’s 3 meter springboard – 22 games
  6. Women’s 10 meter platform – 23 games
  7. Women’s synchronized 3 meter springboard – 4 games
  8. Women’s synchronized 10 meter platform – 4 games

Defunct Events of Diving in Olympics

  • Men’s plunge for distance
  • Men’s plain high diving

Nations Participation and Olympic Medal Standings in Diving

There have been 80 nations in total who have sent their representatives in the Olympics when it comes to diving for last 24 Olympic Games. The United States of America is the leader in the overall medal tally with 135 medals, out of which 49 are Gold, 42 are Silver, 44 are Bronze. China is on the distant second place with 59 medals in total, out of which 33 are Gold, 17 are Silver and 9 are Bronze. Sweden is at the third place with 21 medals in total.


Soccer Players and Eyewear: On and Off The Field

Soccer is not a game one would usually associate...

Madison Square Garden Bag Policy: What You Need to Know

Madison Square Garden is one of the most popular...

ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024: Everything You Need to Know

The ICC Men's T20 World Cup is one of...

Game, Set, Dry Fast! The Rapid Rise of Fast Dry Clay Tennis Courts

What are Fast Dry Clay Courts? Fast dry clay tennis...



Must Check

Best Cooler for Kayaking: Keep Your Drinks and Snacks Cold on the Water

The Best Cooler for Kayaking is a crucial addition...

The Ultimate Guide: How to Transport a Kayak Safely and Hassle-Free

Transporting a kayak can feel overwhelming if you're unfamiliar...

Wetsuit for Kayaking: The Ultimate Guide to Master the Waves

When it comes to kayaking, one of the most...

Top 10 Fishing Kayaks of 2023: Unveiling the Best-Kept Secrets to Angling Success!

Welcome to Sportycious' ultimate guide on the best fishing...

Ultimate Kayaking Footwear: Discover the best Shoes for Paddling Perfection

Dive into the world of kayaking with confidence, as...

Don't miss

Rugby Mad: Which Countries Love the Game Most?

As a sport that delivers fast-paced matches complete with...

Maxwell and Miller script second incredible chase

Sidelights: One could have termed the chase of 205 by...

All About The Table Tennis

Table Tennis is one of the popular games of...

Do you wants know about IPL venues at UAE ?

The Indian Premier League is going to get start...

Kazan Arena:

History and Description of Kazan Arena Kazan Arena is in Kazan,...
David Whisler, the maestro of editing at Sportycious, brings a touch of panache to the world of sports journalism. With an eagle eye for detail and a flair for enthralling storytelling, David ensures Sportycious remains the go-to destination for readers seeking an exhilarating and enlightening experience. When not juggling commas and semicolons, you'll find David enthusiastically supporting his favourite teams and indulging in his own sporting escapades.

All Information About Olympic Stadium Munich

The Olympiastadion Munich is a multifunctional stadium in the Olympic Park in the Bavarian capital . It was planned for the 1972 Olympic Games...

All About Olympiastadion Berlin

The Olympiastadion Berlin is located in the Berlin district of Charlottenburg-Wilmersdorf in the Westend district . It is part of the Olympic site (originally:...

13 Most Interesting Facts about Olympics

There is always plenty of excitement when the Olympics are around the corner or when they are actually on the offing. But do you...