Tuesday, December 6, 2022

National Hockey League (NHL) – The Structure and its Teams

- Advertisement -

We have learnt about National Hockey League (NHL) in our previous articles and now its time to know about the structure of NHL and the teams participating in it.

National Hockey League (NHL) Structure

The National Hockey League is basically divided in two seasons – Regular and Post. The regular season starts from the first week of October and lasts till the mid of April. The post season, where the teams play for the Stanley Cup playoffs, go from April to June. The NHL teams also sometimes play in the Kontinental Hockey League in Russia.

In the regular season each team plays 82 games, in which 41 are home games and the other 41 are road games. Eastern teams play 30 games according to their geographical division. Western teams play 28 or 29 games according to their geographical division, and then there are cross-intra division matches.

The Stanley cup playoffs is an elimination tournament where the top two teams from the regular season play against each other in a best of seven series. The final remaining team is crowned the Stanley Cup champion.

List of Teams participating in National Hockey League (NHL)

Pacific Division

Anaheim Ducks (1993) | City: Anaheim, CA | Arena: Honda Center

Arizona Coyotes (1979) | City: Glendale, AZ | Arena: Jobing.com Arena

Calgary Flames (1972) | City: Calgary, AB | Arena: Scotiabank Saddledome

Edmonton Oilers (1979) | City: Edmonton, AB | Arena: Rexall Place

Los Angeles Kings (1967) | City: Los Angeles, CA | Arena: Staples Center

San Jose Sharks (1991) | City: San Jose, CA | Arena: SAP Center

Vancouver Canucks (1970) | City: Vancouver, BC | Arena: Rogers ArenaNational Hockey League (NHL) - The Structure and its Teams

Central Division

Chicago Blackhawks (1926) | City: Chicago, IL | Arena: United Center

Colorado Avalanche (1979) | City: Denver, CO | Arena: Pepsi Center

Dallas Star (1967) | City: Dallas, TX | Arena: American Airlines Center

Minnesota Wild (2000) | City: Saint Paul, MN | Arena: Xcel Energy Center

Nashville Predators (1998) | City: Nashville, TN | Arena: Bridgestone Arena

St. Louis Blues (1967) | City: St. Louis, MO | Arena: Scottrade Center

Winnipeg Jets (1999) | City: Winnipeg, MB | Arena: MTS Center

Eastern Conference

Boston Bruins (1924) | City: Boston, MA | Arena: TD Garden

Buffalo Sabers (1970) | City: Buffalo, NY | Arena: First Niagara Center

Detroit Red Wings (1926) | City: Detroit, MI | Arena: Joe Louis Arena

Florida Panthers (1993) | City: Sunrise, FL | Arena: BB&T Center

Tampa Bay Lightning (1992) | City: Tampa, FL | Arena: Tampa Bay Times Forum

Toronto Maple Leafs (1917) | City: Toronto, ON | Arena: Air Canada Centre

Carolina Hurricanes (1979) | City: Raleigh, NC | Arena: PNC Arena

Columbus Blue Jackets (2000) | City: Columbus, OH | Arena: Nationwide Arena

New Jersey Devils (1974) | City: Newark, NJ | Arena: Prudential Center

New York Islanders (1972) | City: Uniondale, NY | Arena: Nassau Veterans Memorial Coliseum

New York Rangers (1926) | City: New York City, NY | Arena: Madison Square Garden

Philadelphia Flyers (1967) | City: Philadelphia, PA | Arena: Wells Fargo Center

Pittsburgh Penguins (1967) | City: Pittsburgh, PA | Arena: Consol Energy Center

Washington Capitals (1974) | City: Washington, DC | Arena: VerizonCenter

- Advertisement -
Check this out
- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -