Most Number of NBA Wins by Teams

- Advertisement -

As we read in the article on NBA (National Basketball Association), the NBA was formed in the year 1946 and then two rival associations were merged and since 1949 the NBA is played every year in the North Americas. Let us have more information on the trophies and the winners of the NBA.

The Walter A Brown Trophy

This trophy was formally referred as the NBA Finals trophy and later in the year 1964 it was named after Walter A Brown the first owner of the NBA team Boston Celtics. Walter A Brown played a very important role in the merging of BAA and NBL and creating NBA in the year 1949. The winning team kept the trophy till the next year’s competition started and if they win it again, they are allowed to keep it for one more year. The final year for the Walter A Brown Trophy was the year 1984 after which a new trophy was invented. The last winners of the Walter A Brown Trophy were the Philadelphia 76ers,

The Larry O’Brien Championship Trophy

The NBA changed the trophy in the year 1984 and named it to Larry O’Brien Championship Trophy to honor one of the most successful NBA Commissioners till date. Larry O’Brien was the NBA Commissioner from 1975 to 1983. The trophy weighs 14.5 pounds and it is made of sterling silver and vermeil and it has a 24 karat gold overlay. It has 2 feet height. The names of the winning team every year is engraved on the trophy. Every year when the NBA season is going on the reigning champions often proudly showcases the trophy in their arena. Los Angeles Lakers were the first winner of the Larry O’Brien Championship Trophy in the first year of it. Since then the LA Lakers have won it for 8 times and the Chicago Bulls have won it for 6 times. The Miami Heat are the current winners of the trophy which they have won second time in two years.

Most Number of NBA Wins by Teams

Boston Celtics171957, 1959, 1960, 1961, 1962, 1963, 1964, 1965, 1966, 1968, 1969, 1974, 1976, 1981, 1984, 1986, 2008
Los Angeles Lakers161949, 1950, 1952, 1953, 1954, 1972, 1980, 1982, 1985, 1987, 1988, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2009, 2010
Chicago Bulls61991, 1992, 1993, 1996, 1997, 1998
San Antonio Spurs41999, 2003, 2005, 2007
Philadelphia 76ers31955, 1967, 1983
Detroit Pistons31989, 1990, 2004
Golden State Warriors31947, 1956, 1975
Miami Heat32006, 2012, 2013
New York Knicks21970, 1973
Houston Rockets21994, 1995
One Time NBA Champions
TeamsWinning Year
Washington Wizards1978
Atlanta Hawks1958
Oklahoma Thunder1979
Portland Trail Blazers1977
Dallas Mavericks2011
Milwaukee Bucks1971
Sacramento Kings1951
Baltimore Bullets1948

- Advertisement -
Check this out
- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -