Exclusive Content:

Mithali Raj – The ‘Lady Tendulkar’ of Cricket

With women making a name for themselves in the...

Everything you want to know about Surfing

Surfing is an adventure sport which is primarily found...

The West Indies – Strength in diversity

The West Indies cricket team is a diverse mix...

All about Russian Football Premier League

The Russian Premier League (the official name since February 2020 – Tinkoff Russian Premier League is a professional football league, the top division in the system of Russian football leagues. 16 clubs play in it. Since its inception, it has been called the Russian Football Premier League (RFPL). In July 2018, it was renamed the Russian Premier League (RPL) with the introduction of a new logo.

All about Russian Football Premier League

All about Russian Football Premier LeagueAs the name suggests the Russian Football Premier League which is currently called as SOGAZ among the Russian football lovers has been founded in 2001, hence it is one of the most modern and new football leagues of the world. The Russian football premier league is associated with the UEFA and it has 16 teams as participants. The relegated teams play for the National Football League. The domestic cup for football in Russia is called the Russian Cup and the winners of the Russian Football Premier League play in the UEFA Champions League and in the Europa League. Currently the Russian Football Premier League stands at the 7th place among the top European football leagues list of UEFA. CSKA Moscow are the current champions of the league and Spartak Moscow have won most number of titles, which is 7. NTV and Our Football are the television partners of the Russian Football Premier league and RFPL.org is the official website for the league.

History and the Format of the Russian Football Premier League

Since 2002 he has been organizing the Russian Football Championship (the Professional Football League was involved in this until 2001). Since the founding of the league, the Russian Football Championship has been held annually according to the “spring-autumn” system. On September 13, 2010, at a meeting of the RFU Executive Committee, it was decided to switch to the “autumn-spring” system. According to the decision, the Championship in 2011/12 was held according to the transitional system “spring-autumn-spring”, and from autumn 2012 to the present – according to the system “autumn-spring”

The Russian Football Premier League was formed at the end of 2001 from 16 clubs that received the right to play in the 2002 top division of the Russian championship . After that, each year, the teams that finished in the last two places in the championship were excluded from the partnership, and the teams that took the first two places in the first division became members.

In February 2010, the Moscow football club terminated its membership on a voluntary basis, the Alania football club was offered to take its place , which accepted the offer , in 2011, Saturn voluntarily left the RFPL , and was replaced by FC Krasnodar… Since 2011, the teams that took the 13th and 14th places in the final standings of the championship have played two transitional matches with the teams that took 4th and 3rd places in the FNL championship , respectively . The teams, winning on aggregate, take part in the Russian Championship , the losers will play next season in the First Division.

Four of the sixteen clubs that played in the first season of the RFPL in 2002 have never left it since then: Zenit, Lokomotiv, Spartak and CSKA .

During the entire existence of the RPL (RFPL) since 2002, 39 teams have played in it

Teams Qualified to Play the 2021-22 Season of the Russian Football Premier League

  • Akhmat Grozny
  • Arsenal Tula
  • CSKA Moscow
  • Dynamo Moscow
  • Khimki
  • Krasnodar
  • Lokomotiv Moscow
  • Rostov
  • Rotor Volgograd
  • Rubin Kazan
  • Sochi
  • Spartak Moscow
  • Tambov
  • Ufa
  • FC Ural Yekaterinburg
  • Zenit Saint Petersburg


Soccer Players and Eyewear: On and Off The Field

Soccer is not a game one would usually associate...

Madison Square Garden Bag Policy: What You Need to Know

Madison Square Garden is one of the most popular...

ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024: Everything You Need to Know

The ICC Men's T20 World Cup is one of...

Game, Set, Dry Fast! The Rapid Rise of Fast Dry Clay Tennis Courts

What are Fast Dry Clay Courts? Fast dry clay tennis...



Must Check

Best Cooler for Kayaking: Keep Your Drinks and Snacks Cold on the Water

The Best Cooler for Kayaking is a crucial addition...

The Ultimate Guide: How to Transport a Kayak Safely and Hassle-Free

Transporting a kayak can feel overwhelming if you're unfamiliar...

Wetsuit for Kayaking: The Ultimate Guide to Master the Waves

When it comes to kayaking, one of the most...

Top 10 Fishing Kayaks of 2023: Unveiling the Best-Kept Secrets to Angling Success!

Welcome to Sportycious' ultimate guide on the best fishing...

Ultimate Kayaking Footwear: Discover the best Shoes for Paddling Perfection

Dive into the world of kayaking with confidence, as...

Don't miss

KKR Silently Enters Into Top Fours

Sidelights: KKR’s campaign this season was off the mark for...

All about Major League Baseball

Brief Information about MLB Sport: Baseball Founded in: 1869 Number of teams...

Allianz Arena Football Stadium

The Allianz Arena is a football stadium in the...

Player Profile – Lionel Messi Hight and Other Information

Lionel Messi age, Net Worth, Height, Wife, House Full Name: Lionel Andres Messi Date...

All the Details you want to know about Asian Games

The Asian Games or ASIAD which was started in...
David Whisler, the maestro of editing at Sportycious, brings a touch of panache to the world of sports journalism. With an eagle eye for detail and a flair for enthralling storytelling, David ensures Sportycious remains the go-to destination for readers seeking an exhilarating and enlightening experience. When not juggling commas and semicolons, you'll find David enthusiastically supporting his favourite teams and indulging in his own sporting escapades.

Unraveling Dynamo Central Stadium: The Heartbeat of Moscow’s Vibrant Sporting Culture

Nestled in the heart of Russia's capital city, Moscow, Dynamo Central Stadium stands as an imposing testament to the country's rich sporting history. Established...

NSC Olimpiyskiy

The Olympic National Sports Complex (NSC Olimpiyskiy) located in Kyiv, Ukraine is a multi-use sports and recreation facility. This stadium is home to FC...

Discover the Thrilling World of McMahon Stadium: Your Ultimate Guide!

McMahon Stadium is one of the Canadian football stadiums situated in Calgary, Alberta. The stadium is owned by the University of Calgary and operated...