Exclusive Content:

Women’s Rugby Union World Cup

In our recent article we have mentioned that it...

IPL Team – Mumbai Indians 2019

Basic Info: Mumbai Indians 2019 Team Name: Mumbai Indians (MI) Founded in:...

Some of the Unusual Sports of the World

The people play the sports to entertain themselves or...

Top T20 Leagues of Cricket

Just like the game of cricket as a whole is said to have been invented by England, the shortest form of the game is also invented by them. To make cricket more faster and sleek, the England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) invented the Twenty20 format and the first ever inter county championship was held in the year 2003. It became an instant hit in the England as the game lasts for just 40 overs in all and takes only 3 hours per game. After much resistance by the strongest cricket board in the world, the BCCI, it also saw the riches in the game after the Indian cricket team won the inaugural Twenty20 world cup played in South Africa in the year 2007. Immediately the BCCI roped in the Indian Premier League in 2008 and since then the Twenty20 format which is fondly called by T20 by the fans, has become increasingly popular format of the game. After India most of the cricket playing nations went on to have a franchise based league cricket in this format and here we are with the top T20 leagues of cricket.

Top T20 Leagues of Cricket

Friend’s Life T20

Top T20 Leagues of Cricket

Country: England and Wales

Organizers: England and Wales Cricket Board – ECB

Main Sponsors: Friends Provident

This tournament has basically replaced the 40 overs format games in England and as we have mentioned above, it became an instant hit. Although the T20 league in this current name was started in the year 2010. The tournament is played between the various cricket counties of England and Wales. The winners and the runners up qualify to play in the Champions League T20.

Caribbean Premier League – CPL

Top T20 Leagues of Cricket

Country: The West Indies

Organizers: The West Indies Cricket Board – WICB

Sponsors: Courts PLC

This is the youngest T20 league of the world. After the fiasco of a T20 league with Allen Stanford in 2010, the WICB revived the tournament in 2013 and it has already become popular among the people of the Caribbean. One of the major reasons for it to become popular is the presence of international players from the West Indies and around the world. Winners of the tournament go through the qualifiers to play in the Champions League T20.

KFC Big Bash – BBL

Top T20 Leagues of Cricket

Country: Australia

Organizers: Cricket Australia – CA

Sponsors: Kentucky Fried Chicken – KFC

This is probably the equivalent T20 tournament to the English T20 league and the IPL. This one is also one of the most popular T20 leagues because of the availability of all the Australian international players. The top 2 teams qualify for the Champions League T20.

Champions League T20 – CLT20

Champions League T20










Countries: India, South Africa, and Australia

Organizers: Joint venture of BCCI, CS, and CA

After the huge success of the first edition of the Indian Premier League, three boards, BCCI, Cricket South Africa and Cricket Australia came to gather and announced the Champions League T20 cricket. In which the champions of the T20 leagues playing across the world participate. Although the qualification rules are hugely in favor of the organizing countries, but yet it is still one of the most enjoyable tournaments in the cricketing calendar.

Vivo Indian Premier League – VIVO IPL

Vivo IPL T20

Country: India

Organizers: BCCI

Sponsors: Pepsi

The success in the inaugural T20 world cup by India suddenly forced BCCI to change its mind towards this shortest format of the game and by not wasting time it announced its own franchise based T20 league very next year where players are being bought by the franchises via an open auction, televised live. The top 3 teams automatically qualify for the CLT20 and other 2 teams have to play a qualifying round.


Soccer Players and Eyewear: On and Off The Field

Soccer is not a game one would usually associate...

Madison Square Garden Bag Policy: What You Need to Know

Madison Square Garden is one of the most popular...

ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024: Everything You Need to Know

The ICC Men's T20 World Cup is one of...

Game, Set, Dry Fast! The Rapid Rise of Fast Dry Clay Tennis Courts

What are Fast Dry Clay Courts? Fast dry clay tennis...



Must Check

Best Cooler for Kayaking: Keep Your Drinks and Snacks Cold on the Water

The Best Cooler for Kayaking is a crucial addition...

The Ultimate Guide: How to Transport a Kayak Safely and Hassle-Free

Transporting a kayak can feel overwhelming if you're unfamiliar...

Wetsuit for Kayaking: The Ultimate Guide to Master the Waves

When it comes to kayaking, one of the most...

Top 10 Fishing Kayaks of 2023: Unveiling the Best-Kept Secrets to Angling Success!

Welcome to Sportycious' ultimate guide on the best fishing...

Ultimate Kayaking Footwear: Discover the best Shoes for Paddling Perfection

Dive into the world of kayaking with confidence, as...

Don't miss

All About Axe Throwing Target

One of the important aspects of our life is...

10 Most Interesting Facts about MLB

Here are some of the interesting facts about MLB...

All about the Super Rugby Trophy

The Super Rugby, the super rugby league competition between...

Some of the Interesting Records from Fed Cup

As we know now that Fed Cup has been...

Bowlers Banned for Chucking or Illegal Bowling Action

The latest ban on Pakistan’s premier bowler Saeed Ajmal...
David Whisler, the maestro of editing at Sportycious, brings a touch of panache to the world of sports journalism. With an eagle eye for detail and a flair for enthralling storytelling, David ensures Sportycious remains the go-to destination for readers seeking an exhilarating and enlightening experience. When not juggling commas and semicolons, you'll find David enthusiastically supporting his favourite teams and indulging in his own sporting escapades.

ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024: Everything You Need to Know

The ICC Men's T20 World Cup is one of the most anticipated cricket tournaments in the world. It is a biennial Twenty20 International (T20I)...

The West Indies – Strength in diversity

The West Indies cricket team is a diverse mix of players representing 15 English-speaking countries and territories surrounded by the Caribbean Sea and the...

List of IPL Team Owners (2021)

Indian Premier League (IPL) is a yearly cricket tournament hosted in India every year. It has witnessed 13 seasons to date. There have been...