All about UEFA European Championship


All about UEFA European Championship

Brief Information about UEFA European Championship

Founded in: 1960

Region: Europe (UEFA)

Number of Teams: 53

Number of Finalists: 23

Current Champions: Spain (3rd title)

Most Successful Teams: Germany and Spain – 3 times each.

Last Edition: 2012 hosted by Poland and Ukraine

Next Edition: 2016 will be hosted by France

Official Website:

Brief Information about UEFA European Championship

The UEFA European Championship is the premier men’s football tournament played between major European football playing nations. It has been regulated by the Union of European Football Associations or UEFA. In other words, it is a continental cup for the Europe.

Brief History of UEFA European Championship

This tournament was started in 1960 as UEFA European Nations Cup, but was changed to the current name in the year 1968. Although the popular name of the competition is the Euro which is automatically attached to the year in which the competition is held, like Euro 2012 and Euro 2016. All the participating European nations except the host nation take part in the qualifying process and the winner of the tournament, although not obliged to do so, qualifies automatically for the FIFA Confederations Cup.

Winners of the UEFA European Championship Till Now

There has been 14 UEFA European Championships held till now since its inception in the year 1960 and it has been won by 9 different teams. Germany and Spain have won it three times where as France has been the champion twice. The other winners are Soviet Union, Italy, Czechoslovakia, Netherlands, Greece and Denmark. Spain is the only team which has won this tournament in a row that is in 2008 and 2012. In the most recent championship in the year 2012 Spain defeated Italy by 4-0 in the final in Kiev.

Story of UEFA European Championship

When it was started in 1960 only four teams participated then in the tournament held in 1980 it was increased to 8 teams to 16 in 1996 and in the next tournament in 2016 there will be 24 teams participating. The participating teams play to win the Henri Delaunay Trophy. Henri Delaunay was the first General Secretary of UEFA. The tournament is played every four years just like the FIFA World Cup. This tournament is the most popular football tournament after the FIFA World Cup.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here