All You Want To Know About French Open


Information About French Open

Official Name: Les Internationaux de France de Tennis, Roland Garros OR Tournoi de Roland-Garros

Founded on: 1891


Host City: Paris, France


  • Ile de Puteaux (Some years between 1991 and 1908)
  • Tennis Club de Paris, Auteuil (Some years between 1895 and1908)
  • Racing Club de France (Some years between 1891 and 1908 and all the years from 1910 to 1924, 1926)
  • Societe Athletique de la Villa Primrose, Bordeaux (1909)
  • Stade Françoise (1925 and 1927)
  • Stade Roland Garros (Since 1928 till present)

Surface: Clay (Sand surface when the championship used to play at Ile de Puteaux)

Total Prize Money: Euro 21, 017, 000 distributed in 2013.

Men’s Draw: 128S / 128Q / 64D

Most Singles Titles: Rafael Nadal – 8

Most Doubles Titles:  Max Decugis – 14

Women’s Draw: 128S / 96 Q / 64 D

Most Singles Titles: Chris Evert Lloyd

Most Doubles Titles: Martina Navratilova

Mixed Doubles Draw: 48

Most Mixed Doubles Titles (Men): Max Decugis

Most Mixed Doubles Titles (Women): Suzanne Lenglen

What is the French Open?

The French Open is one of the four Grand Slam tournaments of Tennis. It is played mostly during the third and fourth week of May every year or sometimes during the last week of May and the first week of June also. The venue where the French Open is played is called Roland Garros, which has been named after the French aviator Roland Garros. It is the premier clay court championship of tennis and its red clay surface differentiates it from the rest of the three Grand Slams like the Australian Open, US Open, and Wimbledon. The French Open is also called one of the most demanding tennis tournaments as it has a different surface and also it has five-set men’s singles matches without a tie break in the final set.

Brief History

In the year 1891 a national tournament started in France, but only members of the different French Clubs were allowed to play. The first winner of such a tournament was Briton-H. Briggs, who used to live in Paris. The first-ever women’s singles tournament in French Open was held in the year 1897 and mixed doubles event was added in 1902 and women’s doubles was added in 1907.

Clay Court Specialty

Clay courts are most definitely slower than the grass courts and hard courts plus they also produce a high bounce compared to those two other surfaces. Sometimes the clay courts do not offer the big serves and serve and volleyers which makes life hard for the players who want to dominate the game. Probably this is why some of the greatest of tennis players could not win a single French Open title in their entire career.

Greatest Tennis Players Who Never Won French Open

  • John McEnore
  • Stefan Edberg
  • Venus Williams
  • Andy Roddick
  • Martina Hingis
  • Lindsay Davenport
  • Boris Backer

Most Successful Tennis Players At French Open

  • Rafael Nadal
  • Ivan Lendl
  • Bjorn Borg
  • Justine Henin
  • Mats Willander