Thursday, February 2, 2023

IPL Team – Rajasthan Royals 2019

- Advertisement -

Basic Info: Rajasthan Royals 2019

Team Name: Rajasthan Royals (RR)

Founded in: 2008IPL Team – Rajasthan Royals 2019

Home City: Jaipur

Home Ground(s): Sawai Mansingh Stadium, Jaipur

Capacity: 30,000

Owners: Emerging Media (Mr. Manoj Badale)

Titles won: IPL – 2008

Official Website:

Slogan: Halla Bol

Brief History Rajasthan Royals

One of the first eight IPL franchises which was auctioned in 2008. Rajasthan Royals were the cheapest franchise sold during that particular auction. The franchise was sold for US $ 110 million and was firstly owned by Mr. Manoj Badale, Ryan Tkalcevic, Lachlan Murdoch, Aditya. S. Chellaram. From the second season of IPL the Bollywood actress Shilpa Shetty and her husband Raj Kundra entered into the franchise partnership by taking 11.7% stake (US $ 15.4 million).


The team was captained by the legendary Australian leg spinner Shane Warne and the team was bunch of rookies and few talented cricketers from the different parts of the world. No one expected them to win the title but Shane Warne injected the belief in them and with his captaincy and batting by Yusuf Pathan and Swapnil Asnodkar along with fantastic bowling by Warne himself and Sohail Tanvir of Pakistan, The Rajasthan Royals achieved the unexpected by winning the first ever Indian Premier League title by beating Chennai Super Kings by 3 wickets.

In 2009 they had a good start as per expectations but then their train somehow got derailed and they even secured double digit score against Royal Challengers Bangalore in one of the round robin matches. Later Shane Watson their main stay was called for the national duties and since then they never recovered and could not even reach the semifinals.

2010 was no different for the Rajasthan Royals as they started poorly, but later bounced back by winning four games in a row, but that was not enough for them to make it to the qualifiers that year either.

In 2011 IPL added two more teams, but Rajasthan Royals’ fate remained the same as they lost six games out of fourteen and one game was abandoned. The Same was repeated next year in 2012 as this time around they managed to lose nine matches out of sixteen.

Last year finally Rajasthan Royals were looking at their best with Shane Watson, Stuart Binny and Brad Hodge did exceedingly well under the captaincy of Indian legend Rahul Dravid and they reached the qualifier round. They even won the first eliminator against Sunrisers Hyderabad but lost to Mumbai Indians in the final in the second qualifier.

Rajasthan Royals (RR) Squad for IPL 12 (2019)

RR Squad:
Ajinkya Rahane, Krishnappa Gowtham, Sanju Samson, Shreyas Gopal, Aryaman Birla, S. Midhun, Prashant Chopra, Stuart Binny, Rahul Tripathi, Ben Stokes, Steve Smith, Jos Buttler, Jofra Archer, Ish Sodhi, Dhawal Kulkarni, Mahipal Lomror, Jaydev Unadkat, Varun Aaron, Oshane Thomas, Shashank Singh, Liam Livinstone, Shubham Rajane, Manan Vohra, Ashton Turner, Riyan Parag

Players Bought:
Jaydev Unadkat, Varun Aaron, Oshane Thomas, Shashank Singh, Liam Livinstone, Shubham Rajane, Manan Vohra, Ashton Turner, Riyan Parag

Players Released:
D’Arcy Short, Ben Laughlin, Heinrich Klaasen, Dane Paterson, Zahir Khan, Dushmantha Chameera, Jaydev Unadkat, Anureet Singh, Ankit Sharma, Jatin Saxena

- Advertisement -
Check this out
- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -