Exclusive Content:

All you want to know about Wales Rugby Union Team

If you are an ardent rugby union fan and...

The Championships and Legends of WWE

The Championships and Legends of WWE . The secret behind the...

Highest Paid American Sports Players Ever

We have explained about the Major League Baseball here...

IPL Team – Chennai Super Kings 2019

Basic Info: Chennai Super Kings Team 2019

Team Name: Chennai Super Kings (CSK)

Founded in: 2008

Home City: Chennai, Tamil NaduIPL Team – Chennai Super Kings 2019

Home Ground: M. A. Chidambaram Stadium, Chepauk, Chennai

Capacity: 50,000

Secondary Home Ground: Maharashtra Cricket Association Stadium, Pune

Capacity: 37,406

Owner: Chennai Super Kings Cricket Ltd

Titles Won:

IPL – 2010, 2011, 2018

Champions League T20 – 2010, 2014

Official Website: chennaisuperkings.com

Slogan: Whistle Podu

Brief History of Chennai Super Kings

Chennai Super Kings (CSK) is an IPL Franchise based in Chennai. The franchise was found in 2008 during the first phase of team auctions. The team was bought by the India Cements Ltd. for US$ 91 million and the current Brand Value of the team is estimated around US$ 75.13 million. Since their establishment, the current Indian Captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni is the captain of Chennai Super Kings. Former South African legend Kepler Wessels was the coach for CSK for the first season of the Indian Premier League in the year 2007 but since the next season in 2008, former New Zealand captain Stephen Flemming has taken over as a coach of the team.


The Chennai Super Kings team has been the most successful team in the Indian Premier League because having two titles in their cupboard. Apart from this CSK has been part of every Playoff of the IPL till now. They hold the longest winning streak in the IPL by winning 7 matches in the row. In the first season of IPL in 2008, CSK lost to Rajasthan Royals (RR) by 3 wickets and ended up as runners up. In 2009 they lost to The Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) by 6 wickets. 2010 brought the happiness for the CSK for the first time in IPL as they beat the favorites Mumbai Indians (MI) in front of their home crowd by 22 runs. Next year they beat RCB by 12 runs to win their consecutive IPL title in 2011. Next year again, they reached the finals but lost to Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) by 5 wickets despite putting 190 runs on the board. 2013 they again met MI in the finals, but this time MI beat CSK comfortably by 23 runs.


In 2013 when spot-fixing was exposed by media, CSK and its boss, Gurunath Meiyappan came under the scanner and just recently the Supreme Court of India has directed the BCCI Chief N Srinivasan who also happens to be the MD of India Cements Ltd. to leave his post as BCCI President and remove all the staff of India Cements Ltd from BCCI.

Chennai Super Kings (CSK) Squad for IPL 12 (2019)

Retained Players:
MS Dhoni, Suresh Raina, Deepak Chahar, Sam Billings, KM Asif, Karn Sharma, Dhruv Shorey, M Vijay, Ravindra Jadeja, Mitchell Santner, Faf du Plessis, David Willey, Dwayne Bravo, Shane Watson, Lungi Ngidi, Harbhajan Singh, Imran Tahir, Kedar Jadhav, Ambati Rayudu, N Jagadeesan, Shardul Thakur, Monu Kumar, Chaitanya Bishnoi,

Players Released:
Mark Wood, Kanishk Seth, Kshitiz Sharma

Players Added:
Mohit Sharma, Ruturaj Gaikwad


Smashing Success: How to Serve Up Your Own Backyard Pickleball Paradise!

Pickleball, a sport that blends elements of tennis, badminton,...

Elevate Your Pickleball Performance with the Ultimate Guide to Pickleball Socks

Are you ready to propel your pickleball prowess to...

Most Valuable Sports Teams 2023: Unveiling the Titans of the Game

In the exhilarating world of sports, passion and prowess...

Best Cooler for Kayaking: Keep Your Drinks and Snacks Cold on the Water

The Best Cooler for Kayaking is a crucial addition...



Must Check

Best Cooler for Kayaking: Keep Your Drinks and Snacks Cold on the Water

The Best Cooler for Kayaking is a crucial addition...

The Ultimate Guide: How to Transport a Kayak Safely and Hassle-Free

Transporting a kayak can feel overwhelming if you're unfamiliar...

Wetsuit for Kayaking: The Ultimate Guide to Master the Waves

When it comes to kayaking, one of the most...

Top 10 Fishing Kayaks of 2023: Unveiling the Best-Kept Secrets to Angling Success!

Welcome to Sportycious' ultimate guide on the best fishing...

Ultimate Kayaking Footwear: Discover the best Shoes for Paddling Perfection

Dive into the world of kayaking with confidence, as...

Don't miss

Justin Rose Majors Bio, Career, Awards, Wife

This is the Player Profile of the South African-born...

Neymar Player Profile: Basic, Personal & Professional Life, Records

Basic Information about Neymar Jr. Full Name: Neymar da Silva...

Naomi Osaka Profile, Career, And Awards

Here we bring you all the information on Naomi...

All about Mineirao Stadium

The Mineirao Stadium which has hosted 6 FIFA World...

Axe Throwing Clubs In Houston

Axe Throwing is quite similar to playing darts, the...
David Whisler, the maestro of editing at Sportycious, brings a touch of panache to the world of sports journalism. With an eagle eye for detail and a flair for enthralling storytelling, David ensures Sportycious remains the go-to destination for readers seeking an exhilarating and enlightening experience. When not juggling commas and semicolons, you'll find David enthusiastically supporting his favourite teams and indulging in his own sporting escapades.

The West Indies – Strength in diversity

The West Indies cricket team is a diverse mix of players representing 15 English-speaking countries and territories surrounded by the Caribbean Sea and the...

List of IPL Team Owners (2021)

Indian Premier League (IPL) is a yearly cricket tournament hosted in India every year. It has witnessed 13 seasons to date. There have been...

Cricket World Cup Winners & Runners up List (1975-2019)

The cricket world cup is an international championship of one day international cricket. This event is organised by the sports governing body which takes...