Exclusive Content:

WWE Rumors: 5 Rumors Hope Are Not True And 3 Rumors Hope Are True

At the 1000th match of SmackDown, a match was...

RR Stuns RCB In Their Own Backyard

Sidelights: No score is safe in T20 it seems. Till...

Top 5 Europe Players in Ryder Cup Ever

Ryder Cup is an intense tournament of golf in...

Springboks – The South African Rugby Team

Springboks – the South African Rugby team is one of the forces in the world of Rugby. Today we are going to know more about the team through this article. We will know about Springboks’ important details along with their history and a few other things as well.

Springboks – The South African Rugby Team

Brief Information about Springbok

Union: South African Rugby UnionSpringboks – The South African Rugby Team

Affiliation: International Rugby Board – IRB

Nickname(s): Springboks, Boks, Springbokke, Bokke and Amabokoboko

Emblem(s): The Springbok and the Protea

Current Captains: Jean de Villiers and Victor Matfield

Most Appearances: Victor Matfield

Current Coach: Heyneke Meyer

Top Scorer: Percy Montgomery

Most Tries: Bryan Habana

First International Match: Vs British Isles (as Cape Colony), Result – lost by 0-4

Largest Win till Date: Vs Uruguay by 134-3 on 11th June 2005

Worst Defeat: Vs England by 3 -53 on 23rd November, 2002

IRB Rugby World Cup Performance: Debut in 1995; Best Results: Winners in 1995 and in 2007

About Springboks and their Brief History

The South African Rugby Union team is also known as Springboks has been part of the world rugby since 30th July 1891. You will always find the team playing in predominantly green color jersey with gold stripes. On the date of their debut in the world Rugby, they played their test against the British Isles and lost by 0-4. As it happened with many sports in which South Africa was involved because of the anti-apartheid sporting boycotts there was not much international rugby matches played by the team till 1994 when Nelson Mandela’s ANC took over the country’s regime and made transitional changes.

Because of this for the first two world cups in 1987 and in 1991 the Springboks could not participate and made their debut in the 1995 IRB Rugby World Cup. Not only they participated in the tournament, but also hosted the tournament and came out champions by defeating the All Blacks in the finals by 15-12. Again in 2007 the Springboks retained the world title by beating England in the final by 15-6 in France. Springboks have been the No. 1 ranked Rugby Union team many times and they were also named as 2008 World Team of the Year at the Laureus World Sports Awards.

Home Grounds of the Springboks

  • Ellis Park Stadium, Johannesburg
  • Loftus Versfeld Stadium, Pretoria
  • The Newlands Stadium, Cape Town
  • Kings Park Stadium, Durban
  • Free State Stadium, Bloemfontein
  • Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium, Port Elizabeth
  • Buffalo City Stadium, East London
  • Royal Bafokeng Sports Palace, Rustenburg
  • Mbombela Stadium, Nelspruit
  • Puma Stadium, Witbank


Soccer Players and Eyewear: On and Off The Field

Soccer is not a game one would usually associate...

Madison Square Garden Bag Policy: What You Need to Know

Madison Square Garden is one of the most popular...

ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024: Everything You Need to Know

The ICC Men's T20 World Cup is one of...

Game, Set, Dry Fast! The Rapid Rise of Fast Dry Clay Tennis Courts

What are Fast Dry Clay Courts? Fast dry clay tennis...



Must Check

Best Cooler for Kayaking: Keep Your Drinks and Snacks Cold on the Water

The Best Cooler for Kayaking is a crucial addition...

The Ultimate Guide: How to Transport a Kayak Safely and Hassle-Free

Transporting a kayak can feel overwhelming if you're unfamiliar...

Wetsuit for Kayaking: The Ultimate Guide to Master the Waves

When it comes to kayaking, one of the most...

Top 10 Fishing Kayaks of 2023: Unveiling the Best-Kept Secrets to Angling Success!

Welcome to Sportycious' ultimate guide on the best fishing...

Ultimate Kayaking Footwear: Discover the best Shoes for Paddling Perfection

Dive into the world of kayaking with confidence, as...

Don't miss

Asian Football Confederation: History, Member Associations, Awards

Asian Football Confederation is one of the six confederations...

Player Profile – Simona Halep

Basic Information about Simona Halep Full Name: Simona Halep Date of...

All About Sevilla Football Club

Sevilla FC is a Spanish organized club football sports...

A Beginners’s Guide to the Basics of Rugby Union Positions

In the game of rugby union which is a...

What’s there Inside a Golf Ball?

Have you ever thought about this? Probably not if...
David Whisler, the maestro of editing at Sportycious, brings a touch of panache to the world of sports journalism. With an eagle eye for detail and a flair for enthralling storytelling, David ensures Sportycious remains the go-to destination for readers seeking an exhilarating and enlightening experience. When not juggling commas and semicolons, you'll find David enthusiastically supporting his favourite teams and indulging in his own sporting escapades.

Rugby Mad: Which Countries Love the Game Most?

As a sport that delivers fast-paced matches complete with thrilling tackles and diving tries, it’s easy to see why rugby is loved by so...

From the Pitch to the Podium: Exploring the Most Exciting Rugby Facts

As a true rugby fan, we know that this game is not just a sport, it's a way of life. From the adrenaline-fueled tackles...

The Highest Paid Rugby Players of the World

It is a myth that since the game of Rugby is not that popular around the world, its players do not earn that big...