Exclusive Content:

Mercedes-Benz Arena (Stuttgart)

The Mercedes-Benz Arena , in parlance often Neckarstadion ,...

Player Profile – Henrik Stenson

Basic Info Full Name: Henrik Stenson Date of Birth: 5th April...

Sri Lanka takes the cup as India fumbles at the final hurdle

Sidelights – ICC World T20 | Final | India...

IPL Team – Royal Challengers Bangalore 2019

Basic Info: Royal Challengers Bangalore 2019

Team Name: Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB)

Founded in: 2008

IPL Team – Royal Challengers Bangalore 2019

Home City: Bangalore

Home Ground: M. Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bangalore

Capacity: 40,000

Owner: United Spirits

Titles won: None

Official Website: royalchallengers.com

Slogan: Play Bold

Brief History

The Bangalore franchise was bought by the UB Group’s Vijay Mallya for US $ 111.6 during the first IPL team auctions in the year 2008. The Royal Challengers Bangalore franchise is the second costliest franchise after Mumbai Indians which was sold to Mukesh Ambani for US$ 111.9 million.


The worst possible start for RCB was in the very first match of the Indian Premier League, which was played at their home ground and their opponent Kolkata Knight Riders’ opening batsman Brendon McCullum made a mockery of RCB’s bowling attack and every RCB player looked stunned literary and never managed to come back from that shock and finished at 7th place on the table.

The change of captain or should we say captains helped to change the fortunes of RCB a little bit. First, it was Kevin Pietersen and later when he had to go for national duties it was Anil Kumble, who fought hard and took the team in the finals of the 2009 IPL but lost to Deccan Chargers who too was having a  new captain in Adam Gilchrist after first poor season.

2010 was kind of a mixed season for RCB as despite having a good show in the middle of the season and reaching the semifinals the overall performance was probably not that satisfactory and RCB had to finish 3rd on the table. Although they won 4 games on the trot and they found a new Jacques Kallis and Robin Uthappa as match winners.

A decision to replace Dirk Nannes with Chris Gayle in the 2011 proved right as despite having a few hiccups at the start team could manage to reach the qualifiers and then advanced to the finals too but then they had to loss against Chennai Super Kings by 4 wickets.

One more year at the doorsteps of the playoffs for the RCB despite not having Chris Gayle at the start of the 2012 season. RCB lost an all important last game of their league stage against CSK, which too was fighting for the final slot left for the playoffs.

Last year too RCB had a poor run as they finished 5th on the league table, but RCB fans can remember the 2013 IPL for Chris Gayle when he hit the Pune Warriors bowlers all around the park and scored 175* in just 66 balls and took two wickets in the only over he bowled.

Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) Squad for IPL 12 (2019)

RCB Squad:
Virat Kohli, AB de Villiers, Parthiv Patel, Washington Sundar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Tim Southee, Umesh Yadav, Navdeep Saini, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Kulwant Khejroliya, Pawan Negi, Moeen Ali, Mohammed Siraj, Colin de Grandhomme, Shimron Hetmyer, Devdutt Padikkal, Shivam Dube, Heinrich Klassen, Gurkeerat Singh, Himmat Singh, Prayas Ray Barman

Players Traded:
Mandeep Singh to Kings XI Punjab for Marcus Stoinis

Released players:
Quinton de Kock, Sarfraz Khan, Mandeep Singh, Corey Anderson, Chris Woakes, Brendon McCullum


Soccer Players and Eyewear: On and Off The Field

Soccer is not a game one would usually associate...

Madison Square Garden Bag Policy: What You Need to Know

Madison Square Garden is one of the most popular...

ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024: Everything You Need to Know

The ICC Men's T20 World Cup is one of...

Game, Set, Dry Fast! The Rapid Rise of Fast Dry Clay Tennis Courts

What are Fast Dry Clay Courts? Fast dry clay tennis...



Must Check

Best Cooler for Kayaking: Keep Your Drinks and Snacks Cold on the Water

The Best Cooler for Kayaking is a crucial addition...

The Ultimate Guide: How to Transport a Kayak Safely and Hassle-Free

Transporting a kayak can feel overwhelming if you're unfamiliar...

Wetsuit for Kayaking: The Ultimate Guide to Master the Waves

When it comes to kayaking, one of the most...

Top 10 Fishing Kayaks of 2023: Unveiling the Best-Kept Secrets to Angling Success!

Welcome to Sportycious' ultimate guide on the best fishing...

Ultimate Kayaking Footwear: Discover the best Shoes for Paddling Perfection

Dive into the world of kayaking with confidence, as...

Don't miss

Various Taekwondo Protectors To Maintain Safety While Training Taekwondo

Taekwondo is a very famous sport and people all...

All You Need To Know About Bungee Jumping

  People often want to have some extreme fun and...

Major Gymnastics Competitions of the World

Gymnastics is a very much popular sport in the...

Best Tennis Courts: A Spectacular Showcase of Sporting Excellence

In the exhilarating world of sports, tennis has captivated...

Here Are The Reasons Why David Moyes Was Sacked By Manchester United

The die hard Manchester United fans are still coming...
David Whisler, the maestro of editing at Sportycious, brings a touch of panache to the world of sports journalism. With an eagle eye for detail and a flair for enthralling storytelling, David ensures Sportycious remains the go-to destination for readers seeking an exhilarating and enlightening experience. When not juggling commas and semicolons, you'll find David enthusiastically supporting his favourite teams and indulging in his own sporting escapades.

ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024: Everything You Need to Know

The ICC Men's T20 World Cup is one of the most anticipated cricket tournaments in the world. It is a biennial Twenty20 International (T20I)...

The West Indies – Strength in diversity

The West Indies cricket team is a diverse mix of players representing 15 English-speaking countries and territories surrounded by the Caribbean Sea and the...

List of IPL Team Owners (2021)

Indian Premier League (IPL) is a yearly cricket tournament hosted in India every year. It has witnessed 13 seasons to date. There have been...