Thursday, March 30, 2023

IPL Team – Kings XI Punjab 2019

- Advertisement -

Basic Info: Kings XI Punjab 2019

Team Name: Kings XI Punjab (KXIP)

Founded in: 2008

Home City: Mohali (Chandigarh)

IPL Team – Kings XI Punjab 2019

Home Ground: Punjab Cricket Association Ground, Mohali

Capacity: 26,000

Secondary Home Ground: Holkar Stadium, Indore

Capacity: 30,000

Owners: Ness Wadia, Preity Zinta, The Oberoi Group, Karan Paul and Mohit Burman (Dabur)

Titles Won: None

Official Website:

Slogan: Born to win – Dhoom Punjabi

Brief History of Kings XI Punjab

One of India’s business barons Ness Wadia along with his long term girl friend and popular Bollywood actresses, Preity Zinta bought the Mohali (Chandigarh) franchise of the IPL from the first ever IPL teams’ auction in the year 2008 for US$ 76 million. Along with Ness and Preity, the Oberoi Group, Karan Paul (Apeejay Surendera Group) and Mohit Burman (Dabur Group) too became the partners. The home stadium for KXIP is the PCA Stadium in Mohali but under the expansion plans of IPL KXIP also has another home ground in Himachal Pradesh’s Dharamsala, the HPCA Stadium since 2010.

KXIP Squad in IPL

It was not good start at all for KXIP in the first ever season of IPL in 2008. But after loosing first two games, KXIP made a memorable comeback and won next 9 matches out of 10 and made their place in to the semis where they lost to Chennai Super Kings by 9 wickets.

Year 2009 was a mixed bag for KXIP as they managed to win a few matches against Royal Challengers Bangalore, Rajasthan Royals and Mumbai Indians , but lost badly to Delhi Daredevils and Chennai Super Kings and could not make it to the semis that year.

It was a disastrous 3rd IPL for the KXIP as they lost six matches on the trot and has also managed to lose four more later in the season. All in all  KXIP won only 4 matches out of 14 they played. A forgettable season for KXIP for sure.

A legal hurdle could have become a problem for KXIP in the year 2011 but thankfully it was sorted out well in time. Adam Gilchrist was bought from the auctions and Michael Bevan was made the coach, but KXIP lost their first match, won next three and then lost next five and as they lost the all important last league match they could not qualify for the semis.

Next year was almost the same for KXIP as they lost Adam Gilchrist for most of their season in 2012 due to injury. David Hussey was made the captain and after loosing first two matches KXIP won the next five out of 7 games. Gilly returned for the last but one league game and they won that game too, but lost the last league game and thus they were out of the competition.

2013 was another forgettable season for KXIP as it was in the year 2010 but the entire KXIP lot will remember that one inning by the South African player David Miller, who smashed the RCB boys round the park and scored 101* from 38 deliveries with 8 fours and 7 sixes.

Kings XI Punjab (KXIP) Squad for IPL 12 (2019)

KXIP Squad:
KL Rahul, Chris Gayle, Andrew Tye, Mayank Agarwal, Hardus Viljoen, Ankit Rajpoot, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Karun Nair, David Miller and Ravichandran Ashwin, Moises Henriques, Nicholas Pooran, Prabhsimran Singh, Varun Chakaravarthy, Sam Curran, Mohammad Shami, Sarfaraz Khan, Arshdeep Singh, Darshan Nalkande, Agnivesh Ayachi, Harpreet Brar, and Murugan Ashwin

Players Bought:
Moises Henriques, Sam Curran, Nicholas Pooran, Hardus Viljoen, Varun Chakaravarthy, Mohammad Shami, Sarfaraz Khan, Arshdeep Singh, Prabhsimran Singh, Darshan Nalkande, Agnivesh Ayachi, Harpreet Brar, Murugan Ashwin

Players Released KXIP:
Aaron Finch, Pardeep Sahu, Axar Patel, Mohit Sharma, Barinder Sran, Ben Dwarshuis, Yuvraj Singh, Manoj Tiwary, Akshdeep Nath, Mayank Dagar and Manzoor Dar

- Advertisement -
David Whisler, the maestro of editing at Sportycious, brings a touch of panache to the world of sports journalism. With an eagle eye for detail and a flair for enthralling storytelling, David ensures Sportycious remains the go-to destination for readers seeking an exhilarating and enlightening experience. When not juggling commas and semicolons, you'll find David enthusiastically supporting his favourite teams and indulging in his own sporting escapades.
Check this out
- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -